Hong Kong on the Wild Side - Episode I


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Hong Kong Island
July 4th 2008
Published: July 14th 2008
Edit Blog Post

EN FRANCAIS PLUS BAS

PHOTOS HERE

Getting Aquainted with USOs


On Wednesday, I intend to take advantage of the weather to go up Victoria's Peak for sunset. The first part of the day I spend walking around in Shau Wen and Soho neighbourhood, soaking up the city life, wondering at a whole lot of what I have called USOs (Unidentified Smelly Objects), and breathing the heavy incense in HK's oldest Temple (Man Mo).

Flying in the Clouds above the City


After a short break at home, I set off again at 3.00pm towards the Peak Tram, strolling through the Botanical Gardens on the way, where I catch a glimpse of exotic colourful birds and monkeys, sadly behind tight cages... The Peak Tram goes up at an impressive 45 degrees, offering pluning views into the bay. At the top, I quickly gear away from the malls and groups of tourists and start a hike around the Peak. After less than one minute, the crowds have disappeared and a cloud is quickly moving up from the valley, reminding me of the heart-breaking ending scene of Crouching Tiger Hidden Dragon...

I linger at the thought of flying into the unknown, shedding the pain, setting my heart free, finding a refreshed soul... When, after a curve of the road, the clouds lift up to reveal the magnificent view of the island-scattered sea, eerily lit by the afternoon sun, I can't help but cry from the emotion. And I realize this is exactly what I am doing, flying into the unknown!

A Parenthesis about Solitude (or lack thereof)


Several friends have asked me whether I feel lonely, or ever get tired of solitude. The answer is a clear-cut no. For one thing, I am seldom alone: in Capetown, I was couchsurfing and going out every day and every night with other people; on the road, I would always meet fellow ttravellers as willing as me to strike up conversations and short-lived friendships; in Mozambique, I was with friends the whole time; and in Hong Kong, I would spend all evenings with Caro and Sylvain... For the other thing, I used to feel lonely because sometimes that's what love does, if you don't pay attention, you feel incomplete and alone when your loved one is not next to you. As I am slowly freeing myself from that, no I don't feel alone anymore. Moments of solitude are actually rare and precious, and I have come to seek them and enjoy them thouroughly, even when they come with their fair share of doubts or painful memories. And through this blog, your concerned comments and emails, CouchSurfing, Facebook, chats and Skype, you make me feel loved and cared about--not alone at all! But, hey, this is a travel blog, not a psychotherapy group session (or is it?)!!

Almost Accomplishing the Impossible: Getting Lost in Victoria's Peak


So back to Victoria's Peak and on to another blissfully solitary walk down the Pok Lu Fam Reservoir (not sure I have this name right). Along a wide, tarred path, I pass a few brave joggers (the slope is steep to say the least), surrounded by nothing but thick, lush vegetation, large butterflies, tiny grasshoppers, and the gentle gurgle from small nearby waterfalls. Once at the bottom, I decide to take the scenic path back home on the west side of the mountain to watch the sunset, rather than turning back. And I find myself on a narrow rocky path, deep in the forest, in sight of the sun setting slowly behind the branches on the beautiful seascape. Uuuuuhhh... how slowly? Damn! It's already 6.00pm, starting to darken (and I know about short tropical sunsets), a condescending sign tells me I'm 1 1/2 hours away from destination and, of course, I haven't been smart enough to bring my headlight (not a likely occurrence in HK...). So, picture me, running like the devil through the rainforest, wondering if I'll have to walk through the woods, alone in the dark just meters away from one of the most brightly-lit cities in the world, and laughing out loud at the sheer absurdity of the situation. But my lucky star was keeping an eye on me, as always, and I managed to reach down to a main road just as the sky became really dark. And city life hit me hard in the face with racing buses, honking cars and flashing lights, just steps away from bird chirpings--without transition... It almost felt like a spatiotemporal sci-fi trip, and I'm afraid I was a little out of it while having drinks with Caro and her friends that night.




Hong Kong côté sauvage Episode 1



Faire connaissance avec les OPNIs (Objets Puants Non

Identifiés)

Mercredi, j'espère tirer profit du temps pour monter au Victoria Peak pour le coucher du soleil. La première partie de la journée, je l'ai passée en marchant dans Shau Wen et Soho, m'imbibant de la vie de la ville, intriguée surtout de ce que j'ai appelé les OPNIs (objets puants non identifiés), et respirant les fortes odeurs d'encens dans le plus vieux temple de Hong Kong (Man Mo).

Voler au dessus des nuages



Après une brève pause à la maison, je repars vers 15 heures pour prendre le tram qui va au Pic, en passant par les jardins botaniques sur le chemin, où j'entrevois des oiseaux multicolores et des singes, tristement enfermés… Le tram du Pic monte une pente impressionnante à 45 °, offrant des vues plongeantes sur la baie. Arrivée au sommet, je me dirige rapidement hors des centres commerciaux et des touristes et commence une balade autour du Pic. Après moins d'une minute, les foules ont disparu et un nuage est en train de monter rapidement de la vallée, me rappelant la belle mais triste scène finale de "Tigre et Dragon"…

Une parenthèse sur la solitude (ou son manque)


Plusieurs de mes amis m'ont demandé si je me sentais seule, ou si je me lassais de la solitude. La réponse est claire : non. D'une part, je suis rarement seule : à Capetown, je faisais du couchsurfing et je sortais chaque jour et chaque soir avec plusieurs personnes ; sur la route, j'ai toujours rencontré des co-voyageurs aussi désireux que moi d'entrer en conversation et de se faire des amitiés, fussent-elles de courte durée ; au Mozambique, je suis restée avec des amies tout le temps ; et à Hong Kong, j'ai passé toutes mes soirées avec Sylvain et Caro… Pour le reste, je me suis sentie seule autrefois parce que c'est quelquefois ce que fait l'amour, si vous n'y faites pas attention, vous vous sentez incomplet et seul quand l'être aimé n'est pas auprès de vous. Et lentement, alors que je me libère de ça, non, je me ne sens plus seule. Les moments de solitude sont en fait rares et précieux, et j'en suis arrivée à les rechercher et en profiter pleinement, même s'ils arrivent avec leur part de doutes et leurs souvenirs douloureux. Et à travers ce blog, vos commentaires intéressés et vos emails, le Couchsurfing, Facebook, les chats et le Skype, vous faites en sorte que je me sente aimée et que l'on se préoccupe de moi - pas seule du tout !- Mais hé, ici c'est un blog de voyage, pas une session de groupe de psychothérapie!!

Accomplir (presque) l'impossible : se perdre sur le Pic Victoria


Revenons donc au Victoria's Peak et à une promenade solitaire, descendant vers le Pok Lu Fam réservoir (pas sûre de son nom exact). Sur un chemin large et goudronné, je croise des joggers courageux (la pente est raide, c'est le moins que l'on puisse dire), au milieu de rien d'autre qu'une végétation épaisse, luxuriante, de grands papillons, de petites sauterelles et le doux gargouillis de petites cascades proches. Une fois en bas, je décide d'emprunter le petit chemin panoramique pour revenir à la maison par le côté ouest de la montagne pour admirer le coucher du soleil plutôt que de revenir en arrière. Et je me retrouve dans un étroit chemin rocailleux, au fond de la forêt, à voir le soleil se coucher lentement entre les branches, sur le magnifique paysage marin. Eeeeuuuuuuuuh…si lentement ? Fichtre ! il est déjà 6 heures du soir, il commence à faire sombre (et je sais bien à quel point les couchers de soleil tropicaux sont rapides), un panneau vaguement condescendant me dit que je suis à 1 heure et demie de ma destination, et bien sûr, je n'ai pas été assez maligne pour prendre ma torche frontale (un besoin pas très vraisemblable à Hong Kong…). Donc, imaginez-moi courir comme une folle à travers la forêt tropicale, me demandant si je vais devoir marcher à travers bois, seule dans le noir, à quelques mètres de l'une des plus éclairées des villes du monde et riant haut et fort, vue la pure absurdité de la situation. Mais ma bonne étoile ne me quittait pas, comme d'habitude, et je me suis débrouillée pour atteindre une rue principale juste au moment où le ciel devenait vraiment sombre.

Et la vie de la cité m'a sauté à la figure, avec ses bus pressés, les klaxons de ses voitures et ses lumières éblouissantes, à quelque pas des pépiements des oiseaux -sans transition-. Cela ressemblait à un voyage spatiotemporel de science fiction, et je n'étais pas sûre de ne pas être un peu à côté de la plaque quand j'ai pris un verre avec Caro et ses amis ce soir-là.

Advertisement



18th July 2008

USO
One of my favorite USOs in China was the "chou doufu" or Stinky Tofu, the soybean equivalent to some french cheese like Munster. But it's sold by street vendors, which means you can usually smell it from a few meters away.

Tot: 0.159s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 10; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0393s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb