Hot and Happy Birthday Buns


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Hong Kong Island
October 14th 2007
Published: October 14th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I like so many Chinese traditions but especially those surrounding birthdays because they involve good food, good friends and lots of gifts! But gifts are both received and given and that's what makes it so wonderful. Buddies from the summer language school gathered for a birthday dinner hosted by Zoe for me in Central at Fat Angelo's on Saturday night. I created mix CDs with some of my recent favorite songs for 'the gang' and they overwhelmed me with beautiful gifts including Chinese candles, a Kyoto travel mug, a gorgeous purse, a Hong Kong coffee cup and a beautiful blue Japanese yukata--the cotton kimonos worn in ryokan across Japan. The generosity that I have been shown especially by my 'Hong Kong Sista' Zoe and the friends of summer has been the most profound experience I have had in Asia. Between the sights, sounds and smells of a new place, it is the people that make the experience unique and worthwhile and I am a lucky traveler to have met the best that the world has to offer.

Love on the Western side of the world to Beth and Larry in Austin for the totally terrific "UT-T" and the Taco Bell coupons! I will have to go to Austin five times to redeem all of them, so get the guest bedroom ready, guys! and Love to all of you for your emails, ecards, calls and birthday wishes. Grateful is magnified 18 times when you're on the other side of the world for your birthday...
I depart for Japan on the 23rd of October and hope to get in Kyoto and Hakone along with Tokyo during the visit. I may or may not post a blog from the Land of the Rising Sun. After all, I'm on VACATION! If not, I will be sure to post when I get back to Hong Kong when Val practically meets me at the airport for his return visit to the 'Kong' and we depart for Beijing to meet up with Jacque and Zoe.

Happy Autumn,

Mesa


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.038s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0215s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb