This is Asia?


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Hong Kong Island
September 17th 2007
Published: September 17th 2007
Edit Blog Post

So you may be surprised when I say that I was one of the last people off the plane...I know I know, so not like me not to rush off and run to get to the front of the line at customs. But I figured I should learn to not have to rush everywhere. So I took my sweet old time getting my stuff together. I did take a few pics out the airplane window, but I haven't taken so many here yet. And I'm not in any. I guess that's the only thing that sucks is that it's difficult to get in pictures when you are a solo traveler. I will have to find a fix for that stat.

So off the plane, no problems, got bag. I found a courtesy phone to call my cousin Sandi whom I was to be staying with. No answer. Waited another 15 minutes. No answer. Now as far as I was aware, she knew I was arriving Saturday. I had emailed her my flight info. Anyway, so I called a friend of a friend's friend of a friend. You know how it is. Anyway, this guy Brian was super sweet and told me how to get into the city and that I could meet up with him and drop my stuff at his place until I figured out my situation. Worst case I decided is that I would find myself a nice Starwood in the city.

So I went out for a quick bite with Brian and some of his friends and a few hours later I finally heard from Sandi. I guess she lost a day somewhere and thought it was still Friday and not Saturday! She had just flown back from the states as well. So we finally got that all sorted out and I arrived at her place around midnight.

My first day, after a little bit of car trouble, I spent walking around SoHo (south of Hollywood and the same place I had gone out the night before). It's incredible just how many westerners there are here. It doesn't even feel like I am in asia at all minus the cantonese characters everywhere. Everyone speaks english, there are 7-11's all over the place, starbucks too. I figured out how to take the bus and got back to my cousins around 4ish. I woke up for good around 6 in the morning! I thought I was just going to put my head down for a quick rest and 14 hours later....

I realize my fantasty football team is going to be tough to tend to. Good thing I won my first week and I am up by a great deal already in week 2.

I guess this is all for now! The weather stinks but should clear up later today and for the next few days, or so I hope.

Advertisement



17th September 2007

Hi!
Hi to all! Bethie- you are going to have a night and day contrast from Hong Kong to Bhutan. Wanna try to meet up after Tibet??? I am in Northern Thailand, am the only American ANYWHERE and am not in Puket for those of you who were worried. : )

Tot: 0.225s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 17; qc: 89; dbt: 0.1841s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb