The Peak Tower...


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Hong Kong Island
May 30th 2007
Published: May 30th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Had a superb day today...I jumped on the subway outside my hotel and rode along to Central (the main park of Hong Kong Island) ... their subway is a million times better than ours. It's all air-conditioned (mind you, needs to be here - it's gross ...the temperature is so so muggy!

Then I got on the peak tram and rode to the top of the peak tower..it's so dodgy! It's this little tram that goes up what feels like about 100 degree angle for about 10 minutes! It's so steep! When you get to the top it's incredible. I was so lucky because I know some people who get to the top and it's so smoggy they can't see much but I had great clear views.

Then I had lunch (felt bit sad - "table for 1 please!"!!) in this little diner at the top of the tower that's a tribute to Forrest Gump! It was brilliant! Very 1950's...my favourite.. No Tom Hanks though I'm afraid...think I'd just missed him!

Had a little wander round Central then ... it's much classier than other parts of Hong Kong. There's Harvey Nics, Gucci, Versace...all my normal haunts! Bit different to where I'm staying in Causeway Bay!

Then I went over and caught the ferry to Kowloon which is apparentely one of the 50 things you have to do before you die! It was great....the harbour views are wonderful. As I wondered along the harbour all these gorgeous chinese primary school children with their teachers came running over to me to ask if they could welcome me to Kowloon and practise their English on me! After about a minute of telling me about Kowloon and their school (their english was amazing considering they were about 6-7!) they then wanted my autograph and picture (I got one too, as you'll see!) and then gave me some drawings they had done! They were so lovely! I couldn't stop smiling.

After a stroll round Kowloon I eventually headed back to Causeway Bay and went to Times Square - which was probably my favourite part of the day. This was REAL Hong Kong...it was mad! ...I had a wonder round for a while but then everywhere started to look the same ( Crazy mad streets, bright signs / lights, tacky shops) and I knew I'd get lost so had to start tracing my bread crumbs back to the subway!... It was such a cool place - loved it.

So...I hopped back on the subway - back to my hotel & had a swim in the roof top pool and a sauna (hard life!)... I'll honestly be sad to leave here tomorrow...it's not somewhere I'd want to spend a week but 2-3 days perhaps. It's like no-where else I've ever been. Everyone is so friendly and clean ... I really love it.

Anyway, I have until about 3pm tomorrow to continue exploring then I'm off to catch my next flight to NZ. That's going to be a real comedown!.. checking in to my hostels after staying here! Dammit!

Next Entry....New Zealand!

p.s I've been trying to post some pics but having a little trouble!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.035s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb