Hong Kong island


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Hong Kong Island
February 12th 2007
Published: February 12th 2007
Edit Blog Post

This is my first travelblog on my own so it's gonna be long drawn out and boring well maybe not.

I caught the flight to Hong Kong from Vietnam as a lot of you will know I am not very good with heights so when your above the clouds it was a little bit scary. I even noticed that Thai time is the same in Vietnam I was told the flight was gonna be three hours and it turned out to be one and a half hours which was good for me.

I arrived at Hong Kong airport and caught the train to a place called Kowloon which is just before Hong Hong island I had my trusty Lonely planet guide and yep you guessed it got lost and it took me and hour and a half to do a twenty minute journey at least I got some exercise. The Guest House I stayed in was not the best the bed was almost like a surgical bed with a matress on which was not the most comfortable. I then ventured out into Kowloon it was amazing the town is like as mini New York with people going "you want watch" another one of the authenticly fake market there is here.

The whole area is a mess of Suit shops, gyms, massage palours, computer shops and many other shops after a walk around for a few hours I returned to my guest house and found that my washing was complete but not dry. The guy told me to hang my clothes in the room and turn the fan on so I had wet clothes for one day great!!!!

After that i decided to find another quest house and travelled to Hong Kong island. What a place it is amazing and it does pound your wallet. Although it is cheap things do add up I would put it on a par with malaysia for price. I found a great little guest house with very friendly staff and a comfortable bed.

Hong Kong by night is a sight to behold multi colourfull neon signs large TV's on walls of building playing adverts, trams see the pics.

When Charlie and I first split ways I was a little worried that I would not find people to go out with and talk to but I did meet some Americans who
MoneyMoneyMoney

The 2 dollar is shaped like a star
I went out for a meal with who were teaching here and we walked around the town going past parks, the harbour and lots of other places.

My biggest challenge of Hong Kong is getting my way around I ended up getting lost and wandering around for three hours trying to find my way home and had to get the MRT back to the guest house but the possitive side of that is I saw a lot of places and sights. The MRt here is as good if not better then Singapore it is on time and very tidy you cannot smoke indoors in Hong Kong which is a good idea you do get finded for fropping litter like in Singpore.

Here is the best bit when we booked the tickets I was under the impression that you could change your tickets at any time and get on the nearest flight however i got here at New Year and I am in Hong Kong until the 21st Feb so I have a lot of time to go places and learn how to find places.

I was shown around the New Year flower fair by the people in my hostel there is some amazing flowers, fruits ans stalls I'll let the pictures speak for themselves.

Next stop Australia.


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement



Tot: 0.046s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.025s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb