Hong Kong photos :)


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Hong Kong Island
November 14th 2006
Published: November 14th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Kowloon By NightKowloon By NightKowloon By Night

View from hotel room
Hey,

Here are some photos from the first few days in Hong Kong. I'm hoping to just go out today and take some more pictures, as I finally bought a plug adapator from an old lady in the street yesterday! Also included some pictures of my lovely jubbly studio apartment!

Back at work tomorrow (Monday) and I wish I didn't have to work! It's not bad once Ive started but just always harder when returning after a holiday!! Now it's hardwork all the way till Christmas! That's another 6 weeks! YAY! I've not bought my ticket yet but will be returning to HCMC for Christmas, so if you're there then let me know so we can catch up at the sushi bar or Bia hoi!!

Tuesday Elizabeth and I went to Disneyland! That's right! There's a Disneyland in Hong Kong!! It was great fun and we went on Space Mountain 6 times in a row! My camera was out of battery and so Elizabeth brought hers. We wer in line to meet Buzz Lightyear so we could take a picture (to send to you of course, Sarah!) and we we re the next in line, when Elizabeth checked
The PeakThe PeakThe Peak

View from the Peak
her camera. Utoh!!! No battery!!! We sheepishly removed ourselves from the line before Buzz Lightyear could spot us... I saw Minnie and took a picture with my camera phone from afar, so not excellent quality but it proves I was there! Yay!

Yesterday had a very fun (and money spending!) day. Met up with a guy who is the editor of an online magazine about HK (www.hkcatch.com) and he took Elizabeth and I out for dim sum. He wanted to interview us for the magazine, as we were settling into the city, and took a few photos of us. He didn't really interview us, Elizabeth and I just talked a lot and when I asked him if he had any specific questions he replied he had seen enough! We'll see how it turns out. The rest of the day was spent shopping. I'm actually having a hard time stopping myself from shopping. It's very, very good here! And it's not that it's expensive, not where I go anyway, but it's that I want all of it!

It's hard to meet local people here besides Harris, the HKcatch editor (that was just a fluke). Hong Kong Chinese are not
View from the Star FerryView from the Star FerryView from the Star Ferry

First night in Hong Kong
like the Vietnamese. They're not as open, or friendly. It's quite frustrating as we are forced to hang around the expats and go to expat places because we don't know any better. We explained this to Harris and he said he would introduce us to a few of his friends. Hopefully they can take us to a cheap place for beer! 😊

One of the funny things about Hong Kong are the English names that the Hong Kong Chinese are given. The parents usually name the child an English name from birth, so the poor kid grows up not knowing quite what his name means. Here are a few Ive encountered:


Rudy
Ernest
Blanche
Myra
Kitty
Cherry
Chucky Krusty (this is true)
Apple (I was chatted up by Apple....)
Delson (A Disneyland policeman)
Eunice
Harris
Horrace
Candy
Queenie
Herman (a 4 year old kid in my class)
Winnie

and many more. I'll have to keep a log of them.

A few messages going out:

Jackie: that's right - I'm going up in the world!!! The head is quite a nice person!!
Lisa: Vietnam misses you too! Do you remember our boat driver in Can
Hong Kong By NightHong Kong By NightHong Kong By Night

A little blurry!
Tho, rice wine and beer? I was telling that story to a couple of friends here in HK. Hope you're ok, will email you!
Sarah: I tried to get a picture with Buzz Lightyear but not to worry! I will go back armed with a camera!!!
Colin: Happy Birthday! You probably won't get this anyway but I tried!
Grayden: Are you still thinking of going to Vietnam to visit your friend?
Gina" Hong Kong is great! I'm quite happy to 'have' to stay here for the next two years!

Take care everyone,

Rooj xxx


Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

The PeakThe Peak
The Peak

View from the Peak
O Galo de Barcelos esta em todo o lado!O Galo de Barcelos esta em todo o lado!
O Galo de Barcelos esta em todo o lado!

I believe everything happens for a reason and that signs and symbols have some meaning. This cockerel (symbol of Portugal) is the symbol of a restaurant from Macau across the road from my school!
My apartmentMy apartment
My apartment

Bedroom/living room. Just look at those curtains!!! They will be changed soon!
My apartmentMy apartment
My apartment

Opposite side of previous photo.
My apartmentMy apartment
My apartment

Round the corner from the living room is my kitchen and bathroom! I love it!
ScaffoldingScaffolding
Scaffolding

Although I'm in Hong Kong now, I'm also still in Asia. Bamboo scaffolding is everywhere! That's the entrance to my flat.
View from the Tram...View from the Tram...
View from the Tram...

my favourite form of transport in HK
View from the Tram...View from the Tram...
View from the Tram...

my favourite form of transport in HK
View from the Tram...View from the Tram...
View from the Tram...

my favourite form of transport in HK
TramTram
Tram

Tram
People!People!
People!

This is not quite what I'm looking for...
People!People!
People!

This is more like it.. a normal day in Causeway Bay
Some more shoppingSome more shopping
Some more shopping

Its all about money spending!
Disneyland!Disneyland!
Disneyland!

Cinderella... or the back of..
Disneyland!Disneyland!
Disneyland!

The castle!
Disneyland!Disneyland!
Disneyland!

Mickey. All the characters were later dressed in their Halloween costumes!! The parade was quite scary!
Disneyland!Disneyland!
Disneyland!

The MTR train going to Disneyland. The kid doesn't look as impressed as I was.
Disneyland!Disneyland!
Disneyland!

Minnie!!!!


14th November 2006

Cool pad
Duuude!! That's a swank flat, kiddo!
14th November 2006

Hi
Hello Glad to hear you're still enjoying the experience! The photos are great. I met up with Sara and Leyanne (spelling?) from St Theresa's on a course last week. Also, I met the new nursery teacher at the Early Yaers Conference last Friday. She seems lovely- young and bubbly! I'm still slogging away in Reception - and loving it. My class are sooooooooooo challenging this year though. Anyway, keep well. Take care Bev xxx
15th November 2006

HK looks great
Be sure to post that article when it comes out!
15th November 2006

P.S.
Say "hi" to Chunky Krusty for me. Poor kid :(
15th November 2006

Love your HK Pics
Hi Marta, You take great pics!! Love the HK photos, I missed shopping in HK already. Glad you like it after all, take care and think of me when you shop. Cheers, Tracy
15th November 2006

shopping
Great photos! Spend spend spend - enjoy the shopping - I'm so jealous!! TAke care Gina XX
21st November 2006

hk chinese
yup~~u right~~It's hard to meet local people.haha i'm ur first one form the net ^____^
11th February 2007

muitp lindo!!!! temosmuitas saudades....

Tot: 0.109s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 8; qc: 55; dbt: 0.056s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb