Hospitality and Corruption


Advertisement
Georgia's flag
Asia » Georgia » Tbilisi District » Tbilisi
September 30th 2012
Published: October 1st 2012
Edit Blog Post

Stark differenceStark differenceStark difference

Here you can see where the front of the building has been renovated, however the side has been neglected.
The cheering car sped by, car after car, flags waving high and young men hanging from the windows shouting with pride. The lead car held a megaphone out the window to ensure his voice could be heard by each resident in the apartment block.

Each apartment block showed crumbling walls, women leaning over the seemingly fragile balconies looking onto the streets below before returning inside to resume cooking over gossip with their sisters, mothers and cousins. Men sat in the shade smoking cigarettes playing cards, drafts or dice; the children nearby screamed with laughter as they climbed over the decrepitating play set.

The air is lined with dust and each outing I feel my skin gently suffocate in the heat. In the city centre you are transformed into another world. Cobbled walkways, high street stores with glamorous water features on most corners, vibrant markets and creative sculptures line the walk way. Georgia is a deceiving city for those who don’t care to look closer. The beauty is only on display for the wealthy; walking a just a street back you will find poverty is in abundance.

Government elections are balancing on the cusp of civil outbreak, the city divided. Current employees of the country hoping for a re-election to ensure their job security, this seemingly selfish mentality can hardly be blamed in a country where poverty is standard for the majority of Georgians. The rest of the country crying for change and development, hoping against hope for a new President who will implement a true democracy and not the fabricated version that exist today to cover up the dictatorship that has been in power for the past 8 years.

Those in power syphon off the countries resources to neighbours, ignoring the need to develop roads, health care and local employment opportunities. Instead fat pockets are lined and re-invested to bribe those necessary to remain in power.

Fraud and theft are just the beginning of the crimes committed, kidnapping, murder and torture are also common occurrences to those who threaten to take over and start a new government.

If I have painted a rather dark picture let me take the opportunity to share with you the beauty that so easily shines through. Somehow, through these challenges the people have remained vigilant, and warm. I believe (especially those who I have the privilege of staying with) would easily give you their last meal, shirt, and coins.

Each day I was greeted warmly and cared for in the most nurturing fashion. I was chaperoned throughout the city and nearby villages, shown with pride and sincerity religious and national monuments, encouraged to participate in traditions and customs, shared the country’s history and patiently answered my never ending questions.

Georgia, predominantly Greek Orthodox (90%!)(MISSING) boasts stunning churches, and once again I felt the tingles rush through my veins at being privy to such a personal experience. I was able to visit monuments where pieces of the crucifix were buried, stand in a 5th century church and share in prayer with my host. Although I have difficulty grasping the bible and its contents, I do believe in a higher power, this feeling is distinctly increased whenever I am within a place of prayer, regardless of the religion.

Within the home I was immediately made to feel part of the family and enjoyed learning traditional cooking techniques. Although there was a language restriction with part of the family, I found these conversations to be the most rewarding. The achievement two people gain when a sentence is understood by both parties after much restructuring and charades is invaluable.

Taken to the local markets I was touched at how the proprietor would take the time to show their stalls with smiles reaching ear to ear, they proudly showcased their goods, offered samples and kindly posed for pictures. At no point during my week in Georgia did I ever feel I was inconveniencing anyone, each Georgian I met was in an abundance of national pride and were only too happy to share their time with me.

Sadly as my time came to an end and I packed my freshly baked bread into my bag, I felt true affection for the people I had spent the week with. I can only hope that their own government can see past their own needs and wants and look after the people as they so rightly deserve. As the news lines flashed with unthinkable crimes committed between political parties I knew I had to accept the sad fact that conditions would surely worsen, before they improved.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.315s; Tpl: 0.025s; cc: 15; qc: 47; dbt: 0.2691s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb