Reflections after my first 4 months here


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China
December 24th 2003
Published: December 24th 2003
Edit Blog Post

Beautiful kidsBeautiful kidsBeautiful kids

Everywhere I go, children like this come rushing to to greet me!
Why did I come to China? That‘s such an easy question for me to answer yet many of my friends wonder why I would want to go to China. They feel that there is poverty everywhere, with much pollution and all streets being crowded with cars, people, and bicycles and garbage anywhere you look. I have found China to be nothing like the country as imagined by my friends.

The single most striking and pleasing feature of the country is the people. They are so warm and friendly. I would walk a hundred miles just to see one of those beautiful smiles that I encounter everywhere that I go. And those bright eyes! They put a smile in my heart. It is no wonder I am so happy! As I bicycle, walk and bus around my little corner of the world, I am constantly spoken to, as I hear “Hello” on all sides of me, often after a Chinese person has passed me and then remembers the word “Hello” or has the courage to speak to a foreigner. I have been through several small villages where, I am sure, they have not seen many foreigners. They all rush out of
Streets are spic and span!Streets are spic and span!Streets are spic and span!

TAnzhou town, Zhongshan - lovely traditional homes and spotless streets
their homes to look and then we try to communicate, neither of us knowing each other’s language - just lots of smiles.

And then there is the issue of pollution and garbage. I am in the countryside and am most fortunate. There is so little pollution in the air. The small villages have virtually no garbage - the narrow streets are absolutely clean. In the towns and cities, the only real garbage is on the roadsides. This is the same overseas. I have found the cities in China to be much cleaner than those in other countries. Of course, there is always a worker to sweep up the garbage, often within moments of it being dropped.

What about the countryside? This is the second most important reason for coming to China. In all parts of China, there is something wonderful to look at. Whether it is the sweeping desert in the north, the wild rivers traversing the country, the mountains, the plains, the temples or the ancient sites, China is a country with something special around every corner. The scenery never fails to capture my interest.

Every day that I am here, there is a photo just waiting to be taken. China is a very special place. I just wished that my friends from overseas would take the chance - and come here to have their eyes opened and experience the joy that I have felt.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.044s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 15; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0239s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb