piggybacking


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China
July 18th 2010
Published: July 18th 2010
Edit Blog Post

If we sit, as we are now, right against the window in my bedroom we can piggyback on someone else's wifi. So although we are squashed up and hot, we are happy 😊 Our official wifi connection is still in the offing as we wait for the china telecom password. The aircon man eventually came to install the unit in my room but, apparently, the unit is too big for my wall. So I am still airconless. It's very frustrating as the unit has been sitting here, ready for installation for 10 days. The guy who installs is it from a different company from the shop who supplied it so he just left and we're now back at square one. Actually it's square -1 becuase we have to wait for the guy to pick up the first unit before they deliver the second. Argh

Today was a day off. Rachael and I went to KTV last night with Benny and Chai. I pretty much hogged the control panel picking all my favourite songs. I didn't sing them all, of course, but I just like listening to music and singing along when I can. Tarik had made dinner, the most gorgeous steak and cheese baguettes. So lovely but really massive so we really didn't take advantage of the KTV deal where you pay for the room and get free food. We got home just after 2 and I listened to my News Quiz podcasts as I fell asleep.

I was up by half ten and decided to be productive so cleaned the screen door and did some laundry. This is not as easy as it sounds because the washing machine is a manual one so after the initial cycle you have to stand over it for 15 minutes adding and draining the water to rinse it, then you have to transfer everything in smaller batches to the spinny thing. We went out for some lunch as we'd wanted to try some local cafes but made a bad choice. Well, it wasn't bad, but definitely not as good as we've had so next time we'll try somewhere else. I did manage to have a conversation with a guy in the noodle shop and was pleased that my chinese level allowed me to follow the gist. It was so hot today, nearly 100 degrees so we didn't stay out long but came back to lesson plan (we are very, very sad. We were both excited but the SmartBoard training we had on Friday so decided to get some practise in on the software).

We were aiming to go out for a run in the evening (after our delicious home'cooked' meal of chicken burgers, eggs and bread) but at about 5pm the heavens opened and it was a proper tropical strom which is still going on even now. There's been some awesome lightening and I've been on the balcony watching. Instead of running outside we ran up and down the 7 floors of our building. It's weird, I don't think I'm unfit these days but it was SO hard. I thought my heart would explode. But we're going to do it once a week to guage our fitness levels.

I'm loving my short hair, it's so easy and cool and I only look a bit like a man 😉

Advertisement



Tot: 0.281s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 41; dbt: 0.0806s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb