Walking about


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China
June 24th 2010
Published: June 24th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Today I saw to bizarre things on my way to or from work.

I was walking home at about 3pm when I saw a chicken by the side of the road. Now, people here say Tonglu is 'country' but I didn't think they meant actual farm animals walking about. It was actually quite a fat bird and was just entertaining itself in one of the many construction holes on the roads here. I wish I'd had my camera. I saw a market a bit futher along so think he may have escaped from there, and that perhaps if you want chicken then you get a really fresh one 😊

The other thing was a bit more disturbing. On the way back from visiting one of the schools a young girl came up to Amanada and I with her hands covered in blood. She was obviously very distressed and couldn't speak. Actually, she'd cut her hand pretty deeply opening a can and we took her into a restaurant to wash it off and try and staunch the flow. The girl was getting more and more upset because she was getting late for her English class (at a rival school no less). Anyway, we sorted her out as best we could and Amanda took her to her school to phone her mum. The sad thing was that once she'd recovered enough to speak, she told Amanda that she'd after she'd cut herself she went into a shop to ask for a tissue and they said no!

Lots going on here at the moment, almost too much for me to update becuase I'm really tired at the end of each day (not tetting home til about 10pm) and we only have internet at work at present so the last thing I feel like is staying here to type notes. However, I'll try to be more diligent when I get the internet at home X



Advertisement



Tot: 0.375s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.1731s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb