An End and a Beginning


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China
June 18th 2009
Published: June 18th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Daqing has been an experience alright. I would not change a thing but I can not say it has been easy. Good times and hard times have definitely defined this trip. Up to this point I have always traveled solo and have never really felt the need to have someone by my side. But I could have not done this trip with out Jeff. Jeff has been so many things to me on this trip, everyday he amazes me and it feels so nice to be able to lean on someone as great as him when life gets hard over here.

I will miss China and its crazy ways. I will miss risking my life to cross the street, the mad taxi drivers, the good food and nasty food, the colourful people, and most of all our friends and students. I am so spoiled over hear I get facials once a week for 7 dollars and after my fear of being naked I have been going to the bath houses. You have to go completely nude and there a pools and jets among other things and ladies completely exfoliate you for 3 dollars. It was scary at first, it was hard enough being naked with the the women but of course even harder when they all have never seen a white girl let alone a naked one. Now I enjoy it and it is very relaxing. It is what I think a roman bath house would look like back in the golden days. We just did a last party vist to harbin and I think we will be ready to go after we say good bye to our friends here on Sunday night

I have such mixed feelings about leaving China. Jeff and I have made this our home but at the same time there is not a day that goes by that I do not long for our home in Canada. I miss my family and friends. There have been so many occasions when I wish I had one of my girls to talk to our just even hangout with. Asia is defiantly a mans playground and there for the lack of female companionship has been my biggest struggle. I can't wait to get home to my girls.

This sunday will be our last day of teaching and then on monday night we start our trip, well our next trip. We will take the train down to Beijing and spend 3-4 days showing kalee, Jeff's friend that will be traveling with us for a bit, around. From there we will go to Tianjin for 2 days and then fly to Malaysia, Malaysia is just a free stop over for us. One my last trip I got little scare on my own and never made it down to the capital so, this will give me a chance to see it. Then we will continue on to Indonesia, for a month and a half. Kalee and Debbie will leave about 5-6 weeks in. From there India for 2 months and Nepal and Everest. If we can into Tibet and down the west of China and then home. I can't wait for this new adventure. It sure makes leaving easier.

Untill next time
I miss you and love you all,
Niki

Sandra and Mac we will miss you so much
We will keep in touch and never forget you


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement



18th June 2009

For more pics see my facebook...Niki Patrick
18th June 2009

Savor the memories
The girls can't wait to have you home.... but as your journey comes closer to the end, you enjoy every second and know that although you miss everyone, we will have you for the rest of our lives, but this is THE TIME OF YOUR LIFE. Savor the moment you guys....we will be here with open arms when you get back! Love you Leah
18th June 2009

children
yoour little kids are so cute,keep up the blogs,I love getting them,Love You Aunty Joan
18th June 2009

Keep Safe Love Ya and miss you Dad
19th June 2009

I am glad your journey is going to start to bring you home....We miss you...Have a awesome next adventure, a trip of your life....Say goodbye to Mac and Sandra for me too...I will always remember her great dinner, and remind her I did promise them one in return in Canada. Your little students will miss you both, as I saw the way they hung on to you and Jeff. Travel safe...Love Mommers and Dieter
20th June 2009

This is such an amanzing idea. For the first time I feel like Im beside you going through this experience with you. You will rememeber this for the rest of your life. I miss you so much!
28th June 2009

Jeff and Niki
Hi guys or Namaste: Hope you guys have a great trip will be thinking of you. Look forward to seeing you when you get home. Love, Grandma and Roger
17th July 2009

Hi from Grandma and Roger
Hi guys: Hear you are in Bali. Hope you enjoy it we certainly did when we were there. Jenny and I are going to see Auntie Kim and Uncle Bernie two weeks today. We are going to Edmonton by train so it will be lots of fun. Miss you both. See you soon. Love, Grandma and Roger

Tot: 0.206s; Tpl: 0.022s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0917s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 7; ; mem: 1.2mb