Like Wine, Better with Age


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Zhejiang » Hangzhou
May 3rd 2012
Published: May 19th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Jojo, me & DoraJojo, me & DoraJojo, me & Dora

they are 2 of my trainees from FESCO
What better way than to make up a class (since we took off a week of school to go to Bali) than watch a movie and eat birthday cake? The students loved it off course and so did Pete & I. There were a few little hitches trying to get the cake and then serve it but it all worked out in the end.



That evening I had invited friends from different parts of my "Chinese" life: foreign teachers from HDU, teachers from WXP & HDU and trainees from FESCO (my part time job.) We met at Burton Cafe and had a wonderful 3 hours of eating, drinking and enjoying conversation and everyone meeting new people. I even gave a birthday quiz, the teacher in me, since everyone at the party knew me for different periods of time and in different situations. The Winner got to chose if they wanted a free drink on me or to get a foot massage with me.




How Well Do You Know Elyse?




1. Which state did Elyse grow up in?



a. Illinois b. California c. Iowa d. Michigan


2. Where did Elyse

grow up?

a. a small town b. major US city c. a farm d. beach


3. Which University did Elyse graduate from?



a. Univ of California, Santa Barbara

b. Univ of Nevada, Las Vegas

c. Univ of Illinois

d. Northern Illinois University


4. How many years has Elyse taught English in China?



a. 3 b. 1.5 c. 2 d. 2.5


5. Elyse & Pete leave for Bali, Indonesia tonight for vacation. How many countries has Elyse visited?



6. Which city/state are Elyse & Pete moving to on June 26th?

7. True/False. Elyse is the middle child of 5 children.


How well do you think you did on this quiz?





Kirby was the Winner with all 7 correct and she chose a glass of wine. We have lots of girl time together and have gotten to know each other quite well over the last month and a half.



I had told everyone no gifts as we had a red-eye flight to Bali afterwards. But of course, most people brought gifts, such sweet friends. All of my gifts had a Chinese Theme that I can bring home and cherish for a long time, while reminiscing about this evening for years to come.



It was a great evening and then off to the airport at 10pm for our 12:15am flight to Singapore. Where we had a 5 hour layover and some more mishaps but then onto Bali where our 10 day vacation was BRILLIANT and without a hitch!

Advertisement



19th May 2012

birthday
I got them all right also.....let's get a foot massage together when you are home!
19th May 2012

No answers?
I'm not sure about the middle child of 5 question. But I'm betting no.
19th May 2012

Answers
Many people not just family & friends read this blog so I left the answers out..but if you read the comments now you will know the answers. 1. Illinois 2. a farm 3. Northern Illinois University 4. 2.5 years 5. Indonesia was #29 6. Portland, OR 7. Middle of 3 children, Pete is middle of 5

Tot: 0.37s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 18; qc: 78; dbt: 0.0865s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb