4th April, 11pm BST / 6am HKT, somewhere over China.


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Zhejiang » Hangzhou
April 4th 2006
Published: April 5th 2006
Edit Blog Post

It’s sunrise, and one of the reddest I’ve ever seen. Despite the tranquil scene outside, we’re being thrown around a little by turbulence and I can feel the gap between my seatback and the fuselage changing by around ¼”, threatening to trap my head as I sleep. Don’t wings bend a lot? With my eyes closed trying to sleep, all I can see is a finite-element computer model of the fuselage with exaggerated-cartoon distortions and rainbow colours spreading throughout the members. I really need sleep now, but I only managed two hours or so.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 12; qc: 42; dbt: 0.0436s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb