Traffic and hotpot


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Zhejiang » Hangzhou
November 19th 2009
Published: November 19th 2009
Edit Blog Post

It snowed here yesterday. It didn't settle which is a shame - somehow snow makes it seem like there is a point to cold weather rather than just being unpleasant. Today it's back to raining though, and yes, still cold.

On Monday I went to Hangzhou, the nearest city to here to look at Training Schools. We were in the post part of town, all Cartier shops and Starbucks. Was good to see it and to experience a change of scenery but was difficult getting cabs and so cold I thought my nose would freeze! I did enjoy visiting the training schools and getting the sales spiels...felt a bit poacher turned gamekeeper after working at Explore. It's given me lots of ideas though which Tarik and I will be discussing soon. One of the biggest differences I notced between Tonglu and Hangzhou is the traffic. Although there are obviously a lot more cars in Hangzhou it is much quieter. In Tonglu people drive with their hands almost permanently pressing the horn - it is such a racket. Combine that with the speed of the development here meaning Tonglu is practically a building site and it makes forvery noisy surroundings. I can't remember if I 've said before though, that I really like how in the Tonglu the taxi drivers keep picking people up until their cab is full. It's far greener and means people aren't waiting as long for cabs. You're journey may take a little longer but you pay the same, help the environment and the driver makes a bit more money. I think it's a great idea and was disappointed they don't do it in Hangzhou where most taxis I saw just had one person in them. Not many people in Tonglu drive, there are still a lot of motorbikes, regular bikes and pedestrians. I'm just starting to realise the impact these little towns developing will have on global warming and it's really making me think.

Last night I had HotPot for dinner. It's basically a giant fondue kind of affair, but unfortunately not of the chocolate variety. A large put is put over a burner in the table in front of you and you add the meat, potatoes, veggies etc yourself. Not my favourite thing I've had but enjoyable and a good experience nonetheless.

I'm starting to think about what I'm going to do next year now, really not sure although I am getting firmer ideas about what I DON"T want to do, so hopefully, eventually, I'll find a path I want to follow.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.299s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0867s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb