Leaving China with too many stories to tell


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Yunnan » Kunming
February 24th 2009
Published: February 24th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I know that it has been ridiculously long since I added to my blog (if it can even be called that, with only a single entry), but the past few weeks have been extremely busy, eye-opening, wonderful, and hectic. The only way that I can now attempt to describe my experiences this past month would be to give a broad idea of how I have come to know China during this time, and leave the details for later. After spending the last couple of days with my dad in Beijing, which were spent eating more and more Beijing Roast Duck, visiting (a busy and extremely touristy part of) the Great Wall, and seeing an unbelievable and slighty disturbing acrobatics show, I said goodbye to my dad, and met up with my Intrepid group that I would be touring with for the next three months.

I was extremely nervous about meeting the other members of my group, yet now I look back on the moment I took a taxi with a stomach in knots with overwhelming anxiety and realize that my nervousness really WAS for no reason, just as I had tried to tell myself over and over again to keep from launching into a complete panic attack. Only after a couple of weeks, I have become extremely close with many members of my group, and think of them now as my new family away from home.

And now...after I have told you absolutely nothing of what has happened, I once again find myself pressed for time-as I leave to catch the overnight train in Vietnam in a few minutes.

All I can do now is list a few interesting and intriguing subjects involving China and my recent experiences, only to explain them later.

Spitting
Split Pants
Overnight Trains
Practicing Chinese
Banquet Dinners
Eggplant
Great Wall Sunrise
Celine Dion
...hmm I guess I don't even have time to list! I will explain everything later....hopefully sometime soon-so I don't keep you all in suspense much longer. There is much much more though, and I will try to find a way to let you know the real story of my adventures soon!



Advertisement



Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.024s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb