July Photos


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Xinjiang » Urumqi
July 20th 2012
Published: August 19th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Here are some photos of my first few weeks here.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Lamb and Onion Fried DumplingsLamb and Onion Fried Dumplings
Lamb and Onion Fried Dumplings

A few days after arriving here, I discovered my favorite Chinese food: fried dumplings. This was taken at a little restaurant on the street in our apartment complex, and I'm with Bonnie and Melinda, my roommates.
ShoppingShopping
Shopping

Since my suitcase didn't arrive until July 19th, we went clothes shopping my first weekend here. I'm with Sally, another teacher who has since become an additional roommate.
Sarah's BirthdaySarah's Birthday
Sarah's Birthday

This is at Sarah's birthday party. Her mom is the administrator of the kindergarten. You can see her Grandma and her Dad in this shot as well.
JuliaJulia
Julia

This is Julia, one of our summer school students.
TeachersTeachers
Teachers

This is Wendy and her daughter, Joy. They were living in Urumqi but have since moved back to the States. Wendy taught some of the summer program classes, and Joy was a student.
KidsKids
Kids

Here I am with several of the summer program students. They are such precious kids.
Katherine, Brave, and BrettKatherine, Brave, and Brett
Katherine, Brave, and Brett

Brett is proudly showing off his balloon pig and poses with his teachers, Katherine and Brave. Katherine has since become one of my roommates, also, making a total of six in our apartment!
Balloon PigsBalloon Pigs
Balloon Pigs

Here we are with our balloon pigs. The character lesson was on orderliness, so our pigs served as a negative example.


Tot: 0.175s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.1093s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb