Yak in a bath


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Tibet » Lhasa
April 3rd 2006
Published: April 3rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

yak in a bathyak in a bathyak in a bath

so you didn't believe me? Here's the proof....
Just a final blog before we set out into the Wilderness. I have to record the fact that we saw A YAK IN A BATH. He was a very hairy yak and his friends were queuing up to go in after him. He was sitting chilling in a perfectly round pond surveying the Tibetan plateau below him. I did take a photo, but will have to post it when I'm back in civilisation.
There were also baby yaks and very hairy cows. After the trip, we went out for a curry and ended up sitting with a load of Tibetan yak farmers from the grasslands. They christened us with Tibetan names. From now on I wish to be known as "Victory, your mother will help you". I will be applying for this to be my new name on my work e-mail: victory.yourmothershallhelpyou@cabinet-office.x.gsi.gov.uk
. My mother's name is "long life and much happiness". She will no longer respond to Sandra when carrying out her nursing duties.
Have also just bought myself a set of prayer flags and a "yak yak yak" t-shirt, which I'm planning to proudly wear in London.
I have also decided to become a vegetarian and a Buddhist - I have bought myself a 2 metre tall hornpipe thing and am planning to establish meditation sessions on weekday evenings.
.....ha ha - only joking about the last bit. But it's true about my new name and the yak in a bath.
Right - having just overheard a conversation about how freezing cold it is at Everest at the moment, we're off to buy ourselves some yak skin clothing.
Til Kathmandu
Victory, your mother will help you.



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

surprise yak ambushsurprise yak ambush
surprise yak ambush

I had to run away from this one as it didn't seem to like having its photo taken!
the hairiest yak of allthe hairiest yak of all
the hairiest yak of all

This was my favourite yak of all - he was very hairy and he lived at Everest
golden yakgolden yak
golden yak

This is the statue on a busy traffic junction in Lhasa - I almost became roadkill while taking the picture!
herd of yaks at monasteryherd of yaks at monastery
herd of yaks at monastery

at one point we found a yak actually in a temple (maybe it was a reincarnated monk?)


Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0457s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb