Lhasa


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Tibet » Lhasa
January 1st 1970
Published: February 21st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Lhasa farm landLhasa farm landLhasa farm land

Taken from the plane... early in the morning
This is the day I am leaving Lhasa. My 2 weeks stay in Tibet has come to the end.
In the morning, a taxi driver came to pick me up, we left before dawn. In the street you can already see Tibetans walk towards Jokhang Temple holding pray wheel in hand. The city is so quiet. Unlike other cities in China, which is when traffic begin. Taxi is driving so fast towards the airport and soon I can see a little bit sunlight coming out behind mountains.
It's a sad day for me. Even though I have only stayed in Tibet only for 30 days in my two visit this summer. I have felt deeply connected to her people and culture. Yesterday, I went to the Jokhang temple to say farewell to my Tibetan friends. I became speechless when I held their hands and saying goodbye. Only for 2 weeks, I see those people everyday in front of Jokhang and we have become so close. It is a nice feeling know they will always be there when I go visit Jokhang. But now I am going back home. without any contact information, I can only pray that God will let us meet again someday.
as soon as I enter the airport, I feel like being back to a real world, a world I am familiar with but kinda cold. Everyone is in their own box sitting there and waiting for the flight. there is no eye contact or friendly smile. The whole atmosphere is so different from Tibet where we have Innocent people with honest smiles and greetings.

This is the last photo I took on Tibet's land from the plane. Beautiful farm land outside Lhasa... and I know soon I will return, because this is where my heart belongs.

If you want to see more photos I took during my trip. Please visit my website:


The site below is a new site I am making only for photos of Tibet.



My third trip to Tibet starts in May, 2008. In the meantime, I will continue to add more stories here from my previous trips.




Advertisement



Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.042s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb