"Stop smoking scrolls. You know, it looks like a joint, and you might get jumped by some Rastafarians walking around with this."


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Tibet » Lhasa
June 25th 2005
Published: June 25th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Man, I know I bitch a lot about the snoring kid in my room and thankfully last night was the last I saw of him, but here is how he chose to spend his last night in chez backpacker. He stumbles home around 2am and starts talking about how much whiskey he's downed. Way to go man, I thought my fraternity days were over. Then he climbs into bed and begins the expected roaring snoring, only this time all of a sudden he stops. Awe crap, he's dead. Sven, I think your buddies dead. Then I hear this deep bubbly belch. Dude, I know that burp and I know what it means. He jumps out of bed and runs to the door only to yak half on himself and half in the entryway before leaning over the balcony and raining down splashes that compared to the thunderstorm the previous night. Dude, this was some serious upchucking. If I wasn't laughing at him so hard, I probably could have helped out. Then again, he smelled like puke and I didn't really care for him anyways.

No pictures to accompany this post, sorry. I have a few that I took today but I can't find that guy that I borrowed the USB cord from so they'll have to wait until I get back to Chengdu. Man, today was a freaking beautiful day. Not a cloud in the sky and if I hadn't busted out my shades I probably would have gone blind. I started the day off at around 8am and decided to do the last pilgrimage circuit that I had yet to see, the Lingkhor circuit which took me the better part of the morning to complete. I took a quick detour and decided to check out the Norbulingka which was built as a summer residence for the Dalai Lama. If you are coming to Lhasa and are wondering if you should go, don't bother. There are maybe 2 things worth seeing in the entire grounds and even then the time would be better spent wandering the streets and alleys of the Bharkor in my opinion. Plus it's all the way over in the far west part of town, not close to anything else most of the grounds aren't being maintained. I was determined to find some cool Tibetan t-shirts to bring back to the states, and yet again I have been foiled. The Han Chinese who seem to have taken over all businesses here in Tibet should have figured out by now the virtual gold mine some decent t-shirts would be for western travellers. There are literally hundreds of stalls, mostly all selling the same gaudy crap and the t-shirts that they are selling (or not selling cause I've never seen one bought), I wouldn't even wear as a halloween costume, they are that ugly. Maybe I could swing a part time job designing t-shirts for the Tibetan monks to sell in the gift shop of the Jokhang. Anyways, I managed to find some pretty cool and authentic gifts at a shop called the Snow Leopard Carpet Industries right at the street start of Bharkor Square. The best part about this place was that I didn't have to haggle, it was set prices and everything that I got was authentic and not mass manufactured somewhere in Hong-Kong. Mom and Dad, expect a sweet hand made Tibetan carpet to arrive somewhere in the next 20-30 days, so there's some motivation to get started on the wooden floors downstairs.

Anyways, the rest of the day has just been spent soaking up as much of Lhasa as I can before I go back to Chengdu tomorrow. Gotta get up at 5am tomorrow so I can catch the 2 hour bus to the airport. Sorry this one was short and not up to the standards of my previous journals. Hope all is well.

much love,
ak



Advertisement



25th June 2005

sounds like a loberly adventure you're havin' o'er there. definitely check out a karoke bar, i'm sure the chengdu ones will be just as exciting as tibetan ones. it ain't nothing like you'll ever see any where. enjoy!

Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 6; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0498s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb