Serxu Dzong


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Sichuan » Sershul/Serxu
August 16th 2013
Published: August 16th 2013
Edit Blog Post

new friendnew friendnew friend

This lady walked with me around the monastery
Hi All,

Found the mini bus for Serxu OK. In fact I gone down the day before to find the driver and find out what time he left, this holiday has stretched the limits of my Chinese. Anyway the road went over a beautiful mountain pass, 4200 metres (13,776 feet). The only downer was the weather, it was very wet.

Serxu Dzong, 4100 metres (13,448 feet) is really in the middle of nowhere. Again the monastery was undergoing some major reconstruction and none of the halls were open. Like the other buddhist sites we'd seen here, the people walk around and around the monastery chanting prayers and counting beads.

I must point out about dogs. There are loads of stray dogs and some of them are big and threatening. In fact on my first walk around the monastery I walked with an elderly Tibetan lady and she threw stones at them if they started to come towards us. I showed her photos of my family and with the help of a monk I managed to tell her where I was from and that I had come from Yushu. She asked me to take my hat off and couldn't believe my hair. She wanted me to do another lap with her but it was 3 in the afternoon and I'd not eaten so I had to say good-bye.

Later on I went for a walk around the small village near the monastery. Really amazing, yaks, yurts, cowboys, monks just incredible.

It was a shame I couldn't stay longer here as the people are just fantastic

Enjoy the photos

Jah Bless


Additional photos below
Photos: 71, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0325s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb