China - Unique and wonderful idiosyncrasies.


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Sichuan » Chengdu
June 21st 2017
Published: June 21st 2017
Edit Blog Post

I’ve never been to China before. Here’s some observations of China from a newcomer:



· China loves concrete. Why build something that’s structurally sound, when you can build gigantic structures that way exceed the minimum standards! Aussie specs: 100 X 100 posts; Chinese specs: 800 X 800 posts! Chinese engineers are also very playful and creative in the way they design bridges and other structures. Why build two apartments when you can build twenty?

· China embraces technology. I jumped on a bike today. Using my phone, I scanned a bar code on one of the millions of bikes parked around the streets. It automatically unlocked the bike and debited my Wechat account. How amazing is that! Try to pull that one off, Cairns!

· Sparkies nightmare? Or an historical wiring record? Walking to a restaurant with the tribe this afternoon, when I stopped to take a photo of the street cabling (cable chaos)…a common phenomenon in the urban landscape. A man on a bike with very good English skills pulled up beside me with a puzzled look on his face, and asked what I was doing. I explained that in Australia, street cabling usually consisted of a few cables stretched across lampposts. He was quite surprised by this and headed off on his bike. I haven’t spoken to any Chinese sparkies yet to see if there’s any method in the apparent (kitten with a ball of wool) madness.

· The people are amazing – generous, curious and always eager to help. I have fumbled my way around the streets and subways, and everywhere I’ve gone, people have instantly appeared at my side when I’ve looked slightly confused or baffled. I have had policemen leading me step by step through subway ticket vending machines. I’ve had a woman accompany me to the right train, travel beside me, and gently nudge me off at the right station. Total strangers to the rescue. Take the Aussie spirit and exponential it!

· Landscape is nothing without people in it. Walking shoulder to shoulder for eight hours with thousands of Chinese tourists through the most amazing natural landscapes has taught me a few things about Chinese culture and photography:

o Landscape is nothing without people in it.

o When taking portraits of family members in landscape, it is important for portraitees not to smile. Failing that, the portraitee must perform outrageous and flamboyant gestures with hands, arms and clothing (particularly women portraitees).

· Small business rules. I’m not looking forward to getting back to Bunnings. Everywhere in China, you can buy whatever you want in small shopfronts. Or you will find a mobile service to fix whatever you want fixed. Or if you've got a phone, you can get whatever you want delivered to your door. Or if you’ve got a glut of polystyrene, someone will be there to collect and recycle it!

I think I’m falling in love with this country.



Ken

Advertisement



Tot: 0.113s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 13; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0459s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb