Sunny Sunday, Misty Monday


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Sichuan » Chengdu
November 9th 2015
Published: November 9th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Yesterday was just perfect. The most beautiful kind of day you can have in Chengdu. It was clear blue skies and sunny all day with beautiful light that is perfect for painting or taking photographs. It even started out clear. I was up at 4:00 and watched the sunrise. We left Anren village a little after 8:00 and as we were driving back to Chengdu we could see the mountains to our left side in the west. The mountains ARE Tibet, the beginnings of Tibet, the Tibetan border.

After arriving back in Chengdu, two hours later, I jumped into a taxi and went to my favourite coffee shop near the Jinjiang Hotel. The Jinjiang Hotel was the first hotel opened exclusively for westerners back in the early 1980s. It was also the first hotel I ever stayed in when first visiting Chengdu. Located centrally it is easy to travel anywhere. The coffee shop, across the river, is called Maan Coffee. It is clean, with good food, good service, excellent wifi and polite, helpful, staff. They are a chain but I have only been to the one location. It is a goto, a safety, a haven in the storm.

I spent the weekend, Thursday through Sunday, in a small town outside of Chengdu it was a staff retreat, and I was invited along. It was a heavily programmed outing but I did find some time for myself.

I have no class today but will do some preparation for tomorrow. After lunch I will look at an art collection that I am already quite familiar with. They have added a few more paintings. The works need to be photographed, catalogued and then added to their database.

I have some photos from the weekend away and yesterday but they are taking way too long to go via email between my phone and my laptop. After they arrive I will post them here.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.033s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0171s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb