My life thus far


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Sichuan » Chengdu
January 21st 2012
Published: January 21st 2012
Edit Blog Post

What have I been up to in Chengdu, China so far?



Well I have been sampling some of the spectacular food. My personal favorite has been a Tibetan restaurant (partially because it had the cutest kids). The sweet milk tea is to die for! I have also been attempting the language. I should emphasize the word attempting... But because of helpful and clever new friends I soak up a new phrase after saying it incorrectly the first few thousand times.

I have also been freezing. I know Grap has been pretty cold too, but the sharp cold of Michigan is different than the lingering wet cold of Chengdu. It is a sort of cold that creeps up the edges of your coat and gobbles up your fingertips.

My classes have been interesting, and my professors enthusiastic.

I have also been avoiding my journaling (my new years resolution) and instead exploring the city. My main kindred explorer friend is Dorothy (from South Carolina) as you will see in the following pictures.

Some highlights of the trip so far: Blowing up fireworks that looked like nuclear bombs, drinking tea that smells like flowers, laughing and experiencing
Dorothy Dorothy Dorothy

We went on a search for a bookstore/tea house. We were unsuccessful... However, we did find donuts and pizza that night.
culture shock as a group, and almost crying (very dramatic) at the sight of a peanut butter chocolat milkshake.



There has been no jetleg or sickness (so far). Thank you so much for your prayers/support! As exciting and fun all of this is- I still look forward to coming home. 😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

ME!ME!
ME!

My first picture in China! :) So yes, I am really here.
CandidCandid
Candid

Dorothy practices being sneaky.
BoatBoat
Boat

There was a boat in the walkway. I decided to go for a ride in it. It drew quite a few stares.
Glowing tree Glowing tree
Glowing tree

We grew very cold :(


22nd January 2012

I LOVE the pics of you and your blog! We went to Eliot's meet today - it was fun b/c your Uncle Burt could explain lots to me, as this was the first wrestling match I had ever been to. I took a zillion pics of Eliot but have pared them down to 150 or so and will go through them again before posting to FB. So glad that your experience thus far is WONDERFUL!
22nd January 2012

Nice Picss!
Looks like you're making good use of that new Canon digital Rebel ! Thanks for letting us all live vicariously through your adventures. Soak it all in, meet some forever friends, and enjoy God's creative cultural diversity. -Dave. PS: Your New year's resolution was to *avoid* journalling? :-)
22nd January 2012

wow
great pictures! the boat cracks me up. another crazy american! sounds like you are off to a great beginning. hope it continues to be wonderful. praying for you.

Tot: 0.126s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0683s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb