A waiting in Chengdu


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Sichuan » Chengdu » Emi Shan
October 22nd 2009
Published: October 22nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

So, I think I finally have a beautiful trip to Tibet all worked out. Cross you fingers! We should get the military permits today to go overland from Chengdu all the way to Nepal. I will be in a land cruiser for 22 days with 4 other people I hardly know! Doesn't it sound exciting!!! And I am paying a fortune for it :-) So if you want to donate to the "Alanna would rather travel than get a real job" fund, feel free to send me a private message. I am happy to give my bank account details.

Seriously though, we are going to see the printing press at Derge, the world's highest monastery and Mt Everest base camp.

In the mean time, I went with Sander and Dave to see the giant Buddah at Le Shan and climb Emei Shan. I might have seriously overestimated my physical shape considering climbing 50 km of steps up Emei mountain over 2.5 days left me out of breath and with shaky legs. I'm really going to have to work a miracle before I get to Nepal, because Emei is only 3000 m high (10,000 ft). Anyway, the climb was fun despite running out of food and water at one point and thinking I was going to faint. My new boots, however, worked wonders! No blisters at all and very comfy. Gotta love the Italians and their shoes that are both beautiful and practical.

I'll be back with more adventures soon! Love from Chengdu!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0437s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb