First Weekend: No Internet + Bad Weather = Isolation


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanxi » Taiyuan
November 4th 2012
Published: November 3rd 2012
Edit Blog Post

The second day of teaching went just a well as the first though I still have yet to teach any Grade Twos so we’ll see what happens tomorrow with that. I’ve been without internet for two and a half days which was extremely annoying but luckily it sorted it’s self out fairly promptly so I didn’t have to complain to anyone…I can only imagine what it would be like trying to explain all the technical jargon that my computer was telling me to people who don’t speak English.



It is now super cold in Lucheng in fact it was snowing yesterday morning and it seems to be blowing gale rate winds at the moment. The feeling of isolation has never been stronger particularly as the weather was bad so I couldn’t really go out and have a wonder around. Even if I do wonder around I’m not entirely sure that will help my isolated state of mind since it is highly unlikely that I will happen across someone who speaks even basic English. Though when at the supermarket the employees were all helpful when Laura asked for directions to particular items as well as for advice as to which brand etc. to get.



Another down point at the moment is my cooking skills. It’s quite difficult to cook when all you have is a stove, a microwave and a kettle and a limited ability to get food items that you want. The stove is a gas one with wok burners which means that it gets very hot very fast….I’m not quite sure how I will make an omelette in a wok or how I will boil some potatoes. I think I’m going to look up some simple Chinese recipes so that I can use what I have available. On Friday night I made my own version of hot pot… it was interesting and then yesterday I made egg-fried rice…I thought this would be a no brainer, apparently not. It failed to taste anything like it does when it comes from the Chinese take away…shocking. I have also managed to survive so far without English tea or coffee, I’m not sure how much longer I can last I may have to ask Laura where I can buy some sugar and milk, the last English teacher has left half a jar of Nescafé behind.



Without internet and with bad weather I was pretty much left to my own devices yesterday so I promptly watched several cartoons…I’m no better than my students. I’m still trying to think of a syllabus that I can use for classes. I need to ask Laura if the text book I’ve been given is compulsory and if I need to cover everything in it so that they are covered for some sort of exam. The text book is…interesting to say the least there are several spelling, grammar and punctuation mistakes as well as some problems with wording which though I can overlook are fairly annoying. I also need to think of ways to get the students talking in English more and doing productive activities that they can do while seated. I still get a fair number of blank looks when I give instructions telling me that they have no idea what I have just said. It’s strange I think most of the students are at a intermediate level when it comes to reading and writing but when it comes to speaking and listening I think most of them are beginners. This makes my job as an ‘oral’ English teacher quite difficult as I give all my instructions vocally and expect all their responses vocally also. Hopefully things will improve as I teach more classes if not I’ll have to change tactics.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.033s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0165s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb