Customer Service - Shanghai style


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai
November 22nd 2010
Published: November 22nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

I'm in Shanghai at the moment. I am sitting my GMAT exam tomorrow afternoon and this is the closest place I could do it. Despite studying the past couple of months my maths (and maths exam technique) is still pretty appalling and although I usually score between 600-650 on the practise tests that's becuase my verbal reasoning (99th percentile) is dragging up my quantative score (somewhere down in the 30th percentile). So, we'll see.

Anyhoo, the reason for this post is that I did have an odd, rather unsettling experience today when I got here. I wanted to take the underground to my uncle's house, rather than a taxi , mainly because I wanted to see if I could get around by myself. The last couple of months have really knocked my self confidence ad Ithought it would be good for me.  It shouldn't have been too hard, the bus station is connected to the train station by a massive underground concourse and most signs are in English and Chinese. So, I was waiting by one of the machines that help you navigate which line you want, just waiting for the person in front of my to finish when this guy in a blue shirt came up to s if I was ok. I said yes, and when he asked where I was going I told him and he led me to another information machine that didn't have a queue. Special treatment indeed, and it continued as he not only took me to the right platform, but helped me buy a ticket too. Iwas torn between feeling grateful that he was helping, pleased that my Chinese was allowing me to have a basic conversation with him, and also disappointed that I *wasn't* doing it myself....so much for independence. Anyway, a couple of times (at the ticket machine and again on the platform) I said thank you and kind of waited for him to leave. He didn't.
It also struck me as odd that he didn't have a pass to get through the barriers - when we came to one he just squeezed in to the turnstile behind me. I started to worry that he was just some nutter and not a station employee after all, but, typically British, didn't feel like there was much I could do without looking rude. 

Anyway, this guy then got on the train with me, and when we got to my station, accompanied me out and tried to hold my hand! Obviously at this point I thought it was a little freaky so firmly but politely said thank you and goodbye, and then came the kicker. He asked for money. Funnily enough, we'd been speaking in Chinese up to this point, but he asked for money in English. I only had about 8 kwai in change and wasn't going to give him a hundred, so he made me go and buy a drink so I could get change! By this time, I was pretty angry, not only becuase I felt threatened but also because I haven't asked him for any help, let alone so much, and he didn't even try to carry my bags for me! If I knew I'd have to pay him (and that he had a minimum charge) I would have at least wanted my bag carried!

As he was looking at the 20 kwai that I gave him, I legged it!

Okay, the tip and the train fare were still cheaper than a taxi but that's not really the point! 

Welcome to Shanghai! 

Advertisement



Tot: 0.269s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0734s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb