Shanghai to Bangkok


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai
February 14th 2010
Published: February 16th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Ni Hao for the last time..

Well here is the end of China.. I've managed to keep to my schedule of 2 weeks so I can now look forward to relaxing and enjoying some warmth and a bit of relaxation..

I endured a 13 hour train journey from Beijing to Shanghai, and the train was fully packed. So I spent the journey pretty much lying in my little bunk, with my rucksack as an uncomfortable pillow and my backpack awkwardly to my side. I managed to get a few hours sleep though, so not all bad. I arrived around 11am, and after a short metro ride made it to the hostel by 12pm.

My short time in Shanghai has been difficult, firstly because on the first day I came down with a nasty cold very quickly, and was suffering with headache, sore throat and bunged up nose, and then because it rained the entire second day that I was there which left me limited for how far I could travel. Apart from an orientation tour, I didn't do much in Shanghai. There are museums and parks, but with Thailand beconning and a budget already overspent in China I needed to keep costs down. Not easy, as Shanghai draws as many people as Beijing and could quite easily be considered a capital city.

I was staying at Captain Hostel, which is in a convenient location right on the "Bund" which is basically the area that the British developed at the beginning of the last century. There are some strange sights, with classic old buildings next to state-of-the-art skyscrapers. The hostel is budget, and quite good value for money if you stay in the dorms. I had forgotten though, how much of a pain dorms can be when people come crashing in all night long and early morning arrivals can make some noise too.. so not the best most comfortable nights sleep, but cheap nonetheless...

Chinese new year in Shanghai consisted of fire crackers all night Saturday night.. however the rain on Sunday dampened (if you pardon the pun!) the celebrations that were organised and so in the end there was not much of an event. Unfortunately, I was not feeling up to partying the nights away so I poodled around the town during the Sunday and returned to the hostel prepared for another nights interrupted sleep only to find the party animals already tucked up in bed. So I took pleasure in turning on the lights and making as much noise as I could that night.. and the following morning :-)

Last day in Shanghai.. flight at lunchtime.. so set off early to the airport and the rest of the day was pretty straightforward.. only thing to mention was the cost at the airports.. GBP5.80 for a coffee!! I don't know where those prices come from.. so the journey to Bangkok was to be a long and expensive one..

Goodbye China.. its been emotional .. !


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

Captain HostelCaptain Hostel
Captain Hostel

View from roof top bar
East Nanjing RoadEast Nanjing Road
East Nanjing Road

Stage for Chinese New Year Celebrations
Peoples ParkPeoples Park
Peoples Park

Chinese New Year Balloons
Peoples ParkPeoples Park
Peoples Park

Such a strange backdrop for such a classic building
Peoples ParkPeoples Park
Peoples Park

Couldn't figure this out.. to keep people apart ?!!


Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0376s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb