music appreciation week


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai
February 1st 2010
Published: February 1st 2010
Edit Blog Post

guitar shoppingguitar shoppingguitar shopping

that's Emily's teacher, Jackie
The last week or so has been all about music. As these events and activities were transpiring, I thought to myself this will be a themed blog for sure. And here we are.

I started it all off with a writing assignment about music in the international schools in Shanghai. I talked to and emailed with music directors around town about what makes their music program special. The article was heavily edited which made me question my ability to take feedback, but I got through it and checked that off my to do list.

Perhaps because of the article, I made the previously promised effort to find Emily a guitar teacher. I Googled "Guitar teacher Shanghai" or something similar and found a teacher online who was available to come to our apartment. Then I had to get the guitar! We asked this teacher for guidance and he suggested we try the stores at our mall. There are a few stores and we went to them, but they turned us away and said the guitars were too big for Emily. After a few text messages and some more Googling, we found Beethoven Plaza, a quick walk from our apartment. Emily read the sign phonetically and said "Beet-hoven" and of course Mark and I had a good laugh at her expense. And of course, I can't stop thinking beet-hoven whenever I see the name Beethoven.

We went upstairs to Best Friends Music Center. This place was great. Big showroom, many guitars and some really friendly salespeople who spoke English. We got help, found a cheap guitar ($45) and after having it tuned for us and a few picks were thrown in, it was packed in a soft carrying case and we were all set. I should mention that while shopping and talking with the salesman, he played a few tunes for us. I was thinking, one day that will be Emily. I think she was thinking the same thing. I asked the salesman if he teaches, which he confirmed he does and got his card. When I was checking out, I asked if they had English speaking piano teachers. I was told yes, and sent upstairs to the music lesson floor.

We went upstairs and arranged a trial lesson for Nathan. They wanted us to buy 12 lessons at once but I somehow got them to agree to 1 to start, the rest later. We set up a lesson for Friday, which I totally forgot about on Friday. The store called me and we raced over to the music place and made it there about 15 minutes late, resulting in a 30 minute lesson. The music book was in Chinese (the music is written the same way as in the English books but we just can't read the written descriptions and theory noted in the book. Nathan seemed a bit reserved but after the lesson he said he loved it. We still have to buy him a keyboard so he can practice.

Emily had a lesson with the original teacher I found, but we realized Saturdays are not the best days for us. I ended up going back to the music store and arranged a lesson with our salesman. Emily really liked him, and Mark and I enjoyed the filler time when he played for us. Mark took it a little far when he poured himself a beer, got himself a bowl of smoked almonds and sat down on the couch in anticipation of the lesson/concert. We were not disappointed, and Jackie not only played a bit but
unauthorized photounauthorized photounauthorized photo

oh yes I did.
also sang an Eric Clapton's "Tears in Heaven" for us. We might need to book him for a dinner party before we move home. How fun would that be? Oh, and Emily's first song is the first part of Smoke on the Water by Deep Purple. None of this Mary Had a Little Lamb jive for our rock star in training.

Music appreciation week ended with Mark and me going on a Saturday date night. It had been a while since we had been on a date. Mark planned the whole thing, which was lovely. We went to a French place called Des Lys in the French Concession. Having been to Paris and many a French bistro throughout the US, the place was authentically French and authentically bistro-esque. We had a great meal. Mark had the short ribs and I had the sole with mushrooms and it had this amazing foam--very Top Chef. We ended with some really well made cappuccinos and shared a tasty creme brulee for dessert.

Next, we were off to the Shanghai Concert Hall, where we saw a Chopin concert. The building which was built in 1930 was also amazing. Tons of marble, ornate decorations, and beautiful paintings. I am pretty sure it was the Shanghai Symphony with a pianist who played with a lot of passion. I snapped a picture without the flash at the end of the concert--just had to break the rules and document the experience. I loved watching the kids in the audience with their parents. I can only guess that they were saying "see, if you practice, you can be that good one day!"

It was a great concert but the most interesting part of it was observing a different side of Chinese society. I am used to fighting huge crowds of people with no line etiquette. At the Concert Hall, people stood in line, nobody shoved past me in the bathroom line, and the audience was very quiet and, well, civilized. This might sound bad, but it's honestly the first experience I've had in almost 2 years--mainly because we haven't done anything so civilized ourselves here, I suppose. The other public venues we've visited like museums have always had crowds with the inevitable line crasher or public spitter. And always lots of smoking. The smokers took it outside at the intermission, and the audience was for the most part quiet and attentive throughout the concert.

Foot Note for the regular readers: I am still working on my personal goals but can pretty much guarantee I will fail to fully meet my fit BEFORE 40 goal. I will be fitter than before. And eventually I will be fit. But regardless of that goal, I will BE 40 in 3 weeks. That cannot be postponed. We are going on an adventure to celebrate the end of my 30s and my entry into the next decade of my life. It's also Chinese New Year, so the kids have a week off school. We will head to Malaysia and then Indonesia. Two more countries to explore and experience. I can't wait. I also can't believe my good fortune.



Advertisement



1st February 2010

Great blog!
Trust Suzanne to get a photo of the orchestra despite the no-flash rule...and to fill us in on the bathroom lines at the concert hall. This is what we "regular readers" have come to expect...and enjoy.
2nd February 2010

Music app week
I love the last pic of you and Mark together captioned "us". Hugs, Geeze
2nd February 2010

for the record
I didn't use a flash in that unauthorized picture. but it was still unauthorized. that's how seriously I take this job.

Tot: 0.156s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.1346s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb