Las Vegas - Shanghai


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai
October 3rd 2009
Published: October 15th 2009
Edit Blog Post

This is my third attempt at getting this in ... it gets briefer each time. Don and Wanda greeted me at SEA/TAC. Good to visit with them and the were very helpful in getting me to the right security gate for my terminal. They are both heading out soon, Wanda to London and Don to Italy. Impressed in airport by various Asian airlines stewardess and how stylish and professional their uniforms looked. Flew Alaska air and Asiana Las Vegas to Shanghai $539. Asiana safety record on the net looked ok.

Seat assignment put me between Don, 75, on his second visit to his grandson an English teacher in Shanghai and Jenny, 19-20, on a semester break from school. Both very interesting. She was reading Three Cups of Tea, the book about Central Asia Institute's efforts to build schools in Pakistan and Afghanistan. She will be in Northern Thailand, told her about Lynda bing there.

Oct 3, 2009 (there are a variety of date formats in use)
Transfered at Inchon, Korea. Fantastic, large well signed Korean and English for everything. Easy connection. Arrived Shanghai close to 11:00 pm near the last No. 5 bus run. Decided to do the cab to the train station, $24, instead because if I got off at the wrong stop the was no second chance. Guy in nice unifor looking suit flagged me cab... not the one at the front of the line... ok not everyone does it the same... he jumped in the cab... I repeated several time 'meter only' the flagger and driver had a heated discussion ... ending in the driver paying the guy to get out ... and there continued to be parting words as we drove away. I think they do the cab thing the same way here as we do at home, $. Arrived at the Train station, taxi has to go to the underground drop-off, after all ticket windows were closed. The place is packed, have arrived during the 8 day Nationhood holiday everyone is off and trying to get out of the city. I some how got past security into the waiting area, ticked passengers only, while trying to backtrack a one way only path; observed an altercation, slap fest, between a passenger and guard. Found another way out, the guard did want to deal with me after his last customer. Once in the plaza guy flags me down and says he will help me find a hotel. After a breif discussion in Chinese, hotel only word in English, we agree to the Far East Hotel that was in sight. As I registered at the Far East Hotel $43/night; he waited for a small tip,?$, it was hectic what can I say,the girl at the desk indicated it was about the right amount what ever it was. As I waited for the elevator; was solicited , can only guess for what but the only word in English was 'sex'. The travel guide says don't answer the phone ... after the second call I didn't. Shit... the system just told me it can't save the document.. the save button looks like it did but not sure... going to log out and back in to see what is happening... CNN is still there so all is well in the world....


Advertisement



Tot: 0.253s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0615s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb