Stuck in Shanghai


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai
August 10th 2009
Published: August 10th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Well, the typhoon Morakot has hit mainland China and caused major flooding in the city I was supposed to be in right now. Good thing my travel plans were changed in the last week, or I would have been down there in Wenzhou in the floods.
http://news.yahoo.com/nphotos/Typhoon-Morakot-slams-China/ss/events/wl/080909typhoonmorakot#photoViewer=/090809/481/414628254cbe4e26ad2f1393bb6f6e45
So I am here in Shanghai, where there is some light occasional rain, and some wind but not much. It mostly has so far been to the south. The last 2 days have been comprised of scheduling flight changes, moving hotels and reservations, and working with the factories to reschedule. Well, I guess I could be stuck in worse places. The food is great, people are friendly, and I'm safe. I have scheduled to go down to Wenzhou Wednesday, we'll see if that happens.
Anyway, I've also toured around a bit and seen some sights. See the pics.
On Saturday we went around Shanghai outskirts to see two water villages and a garden. It was raining hard in the town we were thinking of going to, Hangzhou, which has the famous West Lake area.
So we spent the day touring, then came back and went out to the hot pot restaurant where we cooked our own dinner in boiling broth on the table. We had lamb and bef, along with lots of vegetables. They eat an amazing amount of food here!
Then Benny (from Green Pak), Angela (his girlfriend) and I went to a massage place where we got foot, leg and back massages. This was at like 12:00 or something and the foot massage about put me to sleep!
Anyway, long days of activities with meetings and discussions of products and materials has been the norm. Today I'll have lunch with Lilian from Wei Mon company (the paper coating company that applies PLA coating to cup paper), then I think I'll go over to the Bund area to explore through the evening. Tomorrow, not sure of what I'll do, then Wednesday, weather permitting I will finally get to see the machine manufacturer, and also will fly to Xiamen to see their machines in action making PLA coated cups. That will be useful and hopefully will give me some knowledge of operation and maintenance, but not the 4 days I was hoping for. But nothing to do about the weather.


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Qi Bao villageQi Bao village
Qi Bao village

Driver, Benny, Angela (his girlfriend)
hot pothot pot
hot pot

you cook in water on table


10th August 2009

Hi Uncle Dale! I like the pretty houses with the roofs, the water village, and Bunny Rabbity taking a break! Love, Hannah
10th August 2009

Thanks, Dale
Hi Dale. Thanks for the great pictures and info on your trip. Sounds like amazing places that you are visiting. It's so nice that you put pictures with your comments so we can feel like we're there, too. Enjoy the rest of your visit and have a safe trip home. Becky and Pete

Tot: 0.044s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.024s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb