Somethings I found funny...


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai
May 21st 2009
Published: May 25th 2009
Edit Blog Post

There won't be much to this entry since I carelessly left my journal back at my apartment. Oops. Although, I did manage to bring a smaller notebook with me to work - one I've been using for jotting down little tidbits here and there (a very important tool for journalists). 😉

First and foremost, I was walking around People's Square - popular destination for tourists and the hot spot on the metro - and two chinese people started talking to me. Mostly, the young girl, Wu Jing, wanted to practice her English and I was the closest available target. Her friend, Peter (English name), was just along for the ride. They were quite nice and invited me to tag along with them to a very nice traditional Tea House. Initially, I hesitated, but then...I told myself to go for it - which was exactly what I did - and it was fantastic! I'll be able to give you more concrete details later, but for now, I remember one thing she told me.

"You very skinny...you do not eat the fast food, ya?"

I laughed, nodded and said, "Well no, not that much." Little did she know I had Taco Bell (or more commonly known as TB) four or fives times before I left for China. Ah well, minor detail.

Another thing I've noticed in Shanghai would be the INTENSE BIKE-RIDERS. Holy cow!! If you think you are a biker back home, hold your horses and come to Shanghai first. Then you'll know for sure. The people here are very courageous, impatient or just plain nuts. Civilians will cross the street without even looking - glancing left and right before crossing does nothing - you have to be on your gaurd constantly or else you're roadkill. The crosswalk signs are useless, unless you're a foreigner and you value life - so you wait for the little red man to change to green. But even then...it gets a bit scary.

Like many of my friends told me before I left, people look at me like I am this rare gem that few diggers find - which is quite funny since there are so many white-skinned, blue-eyed, light-brown-haired people walking about in Shanghai. Sure, I stand out in the metro (the ratio is about 10,000 to 5), but there several people like me still walking around. You'd think we wouldn't be such a novelty. Yet...we are.

I've also notice that women are very FASHIONABLE here. I've honestly never seen such a plethora of hand bags, hand-knitted skirts and high heals in my life. Most women aren't really afraid to mix-n-match either (e.g. brown and black combos, multiple floral patterns, etc). It's quite interesting. Fearlessly fashionable!

On a side note, I've spotted the usaual fast-food restos: KFC, McDonalds, Burger King and Subway. Although it might be tempting to get a taste of home, I refuse to eat at these restos unless it's a dire emergency. Yes, it's been an experience buying food at the grocery store (no English translation on most food items); but it's a risk I'm willing to take. 😊

Well, I think that'll do for now. Hope you've enjoyed the random facts about Shanghai and my little adventures thus far. "In case I don't see you...good afternoon, good evening and good night." 😉

Advertisement



31st May 2009

faite attention
hey im glad to here your having fun and stuff but just be careful about people apporaching u to practise theyre english it seems you got people who actually did want to pratice but i must say most of them are con artists... love step x
31st May 2009

no worries
Thanks babe...alert noted - several times actually. And they were a very pleasant couple, so it was all good. But I'll be watching out for that fo sho.

Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0422s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb