Living Shanghai


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai
April 23rd 2009
Published: April 23rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

2,5 months after arriving in the 19 million inhabitants city, I already wish that I could have stayed a little longer. I wish I could have awaken this morning watching these huge boats crossing the Huangpu river, broadcasting this new product which will revolutionize the life of the new rich Chinese, or promoting the 2010 world expo in the city. I wish I could have learned more of this language that twits the tongue of all foreigners, trying to reproduce sounds that are as foreign to our ears as they are to our mouth. It takes time to fully understand China, like it is to appreciate green tea, to perceive the significance of the elderly practicing Tai-Chi in the parks and decode the hidden messages in communication.

I have to say, after 2,5 months, I have learned many things, but I also realized I need so much more to understand. For example, Often Chinese culture is highlighted as a collectivist culture, asian culture as being long termist... But how to explain the disparity seen in Shanghai between the rich and the poor? Is it simply due to how people approach the different circle of influence (family, entourage, society, etc)? And how to explain a very short termist view of business deals? The rules of the plenty might end modifying the perspectives on time and social influence and care. But the truth is that we are required to reconsider our approach to things and beliefs. Over my experience in working here with this private equity, I have learned so much from my colleagues, from my brother living there, from my friends...

Politically, as it is a major topic for foreigners, I believe it is also not easy to understand with western eyes, and without considering the vision of Chinese on these topics. An example is Tibet... Interesting to see it from a Chinese perspective, as the "Dalai Lama Clique" (as expressed by the Chinese press) is rather seen as an extremist movement, as would be ETA in the basque region. If you are a "western", i would recommend to read the following articles:
http://www.chinadaily.com.cn/opinion/2009-04/11/content_7669110.htm
http://www.chinadaily.com.cn/opinion/2008-04/03/content_6588990.htm
There are such discrepancies between what media says in the Western world and what is said in China. The fact is Chinese might see articles written by western newspapers the same way you read the ones from Daily news. I indeed had interesting discussions with Chinese on these topics.

I also experience a little piece of the world while in China. Sitting in trendy bars and clubs, meeting with its international crowds, something difficult to describe emanate from the people living there. It is like the crowd of 20-35 y old is moving towards new ideas, developing this wave of creativity and opportunities that make this Shanghai grow overnight. Richard Florida's concept of "creative class" takes all its meaning in such a place, where entrepreneurs, designers, engineers, architect, photographers, etc from all around the world share and generate new ideas. I had the same feeling 4 and 6 years ago, when I first entered inside its walls, that the city was a moving place, shaking by its running crowd. I believe this can be stressful for some, but nothing can prevent you from jumping into a taxi, a train or a bus and make your way to quieter surrounding, like I did in the Huang shan mountains.

I wish there could be a door somewhere in Frankfurt, that would bring me to this place to feel the busy crowd forming flows driven by unwritten rules, pleasing south European wishing to feel a sense of their own place. I would like to spend a little more time in these fabric market, drawing and experimenting some design for my clothes. The food is amazing and I will miss it as well. I hope I will be able to reproduce such an ideal lifestyle in Frankfurt :-).


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



23rd April 2009

it was really a pleasure to met you,hope to see you soon in another time:)

Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0362s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb