Being Guides in Shanghai Continued


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai
March 26th 2009
Published: March 26th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I have to say that having Dad and Eileen visit us has been wonderful so far. We are having such fun showing them around and looking like we know what we're doing. So far, they seem fooled and quite impressed with our Mandarin and knowledge about all things traveling in China.

The last days with Dad & Eileen in Shanghai were busy and full of fun. We were on the go almost the entire time. Saturday, Dad, Eileen and I went to the Shanghai Museum. The museum was free—one of the many Chinese museums with no entrance charge. We bought audio tours and enjoyed hearing about the history of ceramics and bronze in China. We took a break for tea and cookies in the tea room and then headed back to Zhongshan Park after a power tour of the Jade exhibit. We all had museum-itis, which Eileen explained to the non-medically trained in our party (Dad and myself) resulted from all the standing around and having the blood pool in our feet. All I know is I couldn’t stop yawning even though the museum was quite interesting. Like curl up on a couch and nap dark. No couches in sight
Celadon Celadon Celadon

A.D. 1723-1735, Qing period
though. I looked.
Saturday night was adult night out and we had a great time. We started with foot massages. I think our guests were eager to have these sooner but our itinerary was booked and this was our first opportunity of the visit. We took them to our favorite spot near Taikang Lu and had a big room where we were all 8 of our feet were massaged together. The synchronization of our massages was almost musical. All of our people with the exception of Mark’s guy were in sync almost the entire time. Mark opted for the toe-nail trim and foot scraping add-on which grossed me out but I must say his feet did look lovely and were baby butt soft. Not to get too off topic, but the toe nail trimming is a whole process and involves a razor blade. Enough said.

Our feet were happy after 90 minutes of attention and we zipped over to the Glamour Bar to meet our friend Tony. (In case I didn't mention, Tony is a friend of my Dad's from way back and also lives in Santa Barbara. He knows Shanghai and comes often and timed this trip to
Having Tea in ChinaHaving Tea in ChinaHaving Tea in China

Ha ha. That joke never gets old (to me).
coincide with my Dad and Eileen's visit). We had planned to go to the Peace Hotel before dinner but oops—closed for renovation. I had done a lot of pre-checking and calling ahead so far, but I didn’t call to check on this landmark establishment. My bad. Tony got there early and alerted us to the closing so we met at our dinner destination instead. M on the Bund is a great spot. We have been there but never for dinner. Glamour Bar is in the same building and has the same swanky, classy, lounge vibe. Dinner was great. We had a variety of non-Asian entrees, which included many farm animals (lamb, chicken, duck, ox) and the non-game cheese souffle. The dessert they are famous for, the pavlova with fruit was amazing. Meringue and fruit. Heaven on a plate.

Sunday, I had to take Emily to the doctor due to her continuing bad cough and on and off fever. The very nice pediatrician said Emily had a slight ear infection and gave us ear drops, a bunch of cough remedies and a patch (!) for her cough that is basically my asthma medicine via patch. Makes sense since kids have trouble with inhalers—especially kids like Emily who don’t have asthma. Emily was a trooper and we went on to meet our friends Joanna, Ian, William and Sophie for brunch. The rest of our family met us there too. We went to Element Fresh which is this very good restaurant with a huge menu that includes fresh squeezed juice, western breakfast, and an international menu of deliciousness. I am a frequent diner card member for this place. One day, I think I will earn a free coffee with all off the points I’ve accumulated.

After brunch we all (all 10 of us) went to Jing'An Temple. This famous temple is right at the metro stop I have been to many times but I never took the time to explore the temple. It was beautiful and the kids spent quite a bit of time praying to the various Buddha statues on display. There were people praying and lighting incense and throwing coins for luck throughout the large temple grounds.

After that spiritual experience we of course immediately headed down the road for some fake market shopping. Tony met us there and helped Eileen buy some great purses. I bought a Hermes wallet. I should say a “Hermes” wallet for $7 USD. It’s green. Mark thinks it’s Kermit green. I think it’s spring green. Whatever. I’m so not the fashion girl my new wallet might lead people to believe I am.

As if that weren't enough of a day, we went back over to Taikang Lu for a more leisurely stroll through the shops. Of course we can't go there without eating, so we did the Chilean wine/pizza thing--a big hit with our guests.

We ended the last day in Shanghai with a quick tour of Zhongshan Park. Amazingly, one of our favorite spots in town was put off as we hurried to see and do as many things as possible. Dad and Eileen loved the park and I’m glad we were able to squeeze even the smallest of tours in. We were all so tired, we didn’t meet up again until Monday morning to head to the airport for our trip to Xian.



Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

Emily prayingEmily praying
Emily praying

she was so serious and peaceful about it. Was pretty cool.
stopped for a slicestopped for a slice
stopped for a slice

Did our pizza, Chilean wine combo for snack time
Monopoly MoneyMonopoly Money
Monopoly Money

We ofte call Chinese money Monopoly Money since you carry around these giant stacks of RMB 100 notes ($15USD)
photo shootphoto shoot
photo shoot

Taikang Lu


26th March 2009

Great blog!
A new take on vicarious living...reading about two of your fellow blog-readers...your dad and Eileen...visiting you in Shanghai. I think I would have wanted that famous foot massage asap too. And all the good food runs. Not to mention hearing you all speak Mandarin. Love the photo of Emily at the Buddha shrine.
26th March 2009

Love the red background photo of the kids. And love that you bought a spring green wallet...you know green is truly the new black these days. It's been a color of choice for me lately.

Tot: 0.228s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 52; dbt: 0.1512s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb