Ni Hao


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai
January 22nd 2006
Published: January 22nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

badminton funbadminton funbadminton fun

Let's see, from left to right it's girl I don't know, my youngest cousin Junxian, and frazzled looking me.
Dear Diary,

Chinese food is soo damn good. Ok so the flight was very smooth. I sat next to a baby and a middle aged artist man. I got nervous and homesick for the first time when the plane was landing and I saw Shanghai's buildings. It hit me that I was here to stay for the next 4 and a half months with no chance of turning around to go home. I also realized I can't speak chinese...but whatever. All my relatives have been really nice. So far I've just been getting settled and spending time with relatives. I've also played badminton with my cousin and some girl and today my uncle took me to this...market thingie where they sold flowers and pets...that makes sense, right? All teh animals looked really pathetic. I felt so bad for them, worse than at that puppy place on skokie blvd. So I've clearly been very busy, productive, and adventurous. Keep reading for guaranteed excitement. Oh and pictures are coming.

hugs and slobbery kisses,
jeanette

p.s. ignore spelling and grammar errors, after all i'm here to learn chinese!


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

My grandfatherMy grandfather
My grandfather

This is my Waigong, my mom's dad. The chinese are crazy about what you call your relatives. Your aunt on your dad's side isn't called the same thing as an aunt on your mom's side. Then it's different for relatives married into the family. It's so confusing! One time I called my aunt-in-law (if you're lost stop reading. it's really not worth finishing) what you would call your mother's sister and everybody laughed...i died a little inside :0)
Pet marketPet market
Pet market

Nilofer, I did indeed take a picture at the pet market. Isn't it sad? Oh in case you can't see it's rabbits on top and assorted kitties and puppies on the bottom. People were also selling fish, gerbils, birds, and i think there were chincillas at this one place


22nd January 2006

love
i love the slobbery kisses! those are the best kind. i love this travelblog. you should win an award for such a nifty idea. and you're being good and updating! i'm so proud! bye babes. i miss you. buy a pet next time you go to that flower pet market thing. or just take pics of them and pretend like you bought them all, being a rich american and all. :o) toodles babe!
24th January 2006

Food food food?
Hi, Jeanettie - sounds like you are getting your land/time legs for Shanghai! Keep on writing. Love you . Aunt Anne
25th January 2006

wow i relaly don't wanna do hw
so yeah, this thing is amazing. i wish i had this when i was travelling. except i'll be too lazy to update it, but i expect big things from you, missy doo! what time is it in shanghai? it's 6:30 here and the sun is about to rise and i still haven't started hw. so i'm glad you're having a good time in china and all but can you try to hurry back to the states? we miss you (already). and bring some pandas back too. thanks!

Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0407s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb