A Chinese Style Happy Birthday


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai
October 29th 2008
Published: October 30th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Her name is EmilyHer name is EmilyHer name is Emily

So I totally have a bunch of incriminating photos and video footage of our karaoke, but I'm not mean enough to post that on the internet. So instead you can enjoy a photo of my beautiful new bicycle.
It has been an eventful few past couple of days. I experimented in a laboratory, I bought a slick new green bike, I drank Chinese beer with German students, and I tried chicken feet, however I think the highlight of our trip thus far was last night.

Yesterday was one of my traveling companion's birthday and she made friends with some Chinese kids who offered to take us out to celebrate. After an awesome meal and a couple of beers we went to do what else but karaoke.

Never have a felt more like Scarlett Johannson minus a pink bob wig than that night. We were in a private room drinking free juice and beer and singing to everything from Billy Joel to Usher to Shania Twain to straight up Chinese pop, which by the way, the three of us didn’t understand a word of but managed to sing along nonetheless.

Anyways, last night was a good reminder that getting to know China and it’s culture isn’t just about reading about Mao and seeing major tourist spots like the Forbidden City, but also about just getting to know the people and hanging out with kids my own age. Which is wicked cool.

Oh, and chicken feet are as gross as they sound.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0389s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb