Shanghai


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai
July 26th 2008
Published: August 27th 2008
Edit Blog Post

WOW! Shanghai is hot! Step out of the air conditioning and within 2 minutes you're sweating. Its unbelievable. Even at 6am on the Bund (The old road that runs along the river) watching the tai-chi. I have no idea what the temperature was, all I know is hot and humid is an understatement.

The strange thing about Shanghai is its European appearance. The architecture here is completely different to that anywhere else I have seen in China. Even to the point you can see the influence of different countries within the districts.

Unfortunately didn't get much sightseeing done as managed to injure my foot and was having difficulty walking. So alot of my time was spent resting and hobbling around. I did manage to get to the Jade Buddha Temple, which was an incredibly tranquil place in such a bustling city. Not as elaborate or dazzlingly decorated as the Lama temple i Beijing, yet as beautiful in its humble stance. Called the Jade Buddha temple as it houses a buddha carved from a single piece of white jade.

I then headed to the Pearl market, where I was able to choose an oyster and keep the pearls - 30. The size of them would mean that they would be ground and used in cosmetic products rather than jewelery.

My most interesting experience in Shanghai was the emergency department at the teaching hospital, to have my foot looked at, as I really was getting to the point of being unable to walk. Glad my guide was with me as an interpreter. I had a couple of blood tests, for gout - apparently common in western travellers when they get to China due to the change in diet. and Cellulitis, which knew it wasn't, and finally diagnosed as plain old soft tissue damage and to take painkillers and rest. So feeling sorry for myself as cycling and treking on the next coule of sections of the trip could be out for me.
Good laugh for everyone else though when I took my painkillers and they made me woozy and giggly, I was a great source of amusement.

The hospital was humbling. The emergency department was basically a big room in which where there was a space there was a trolley. No cubicles, no curtains and very old trolleys. For examination, patients were taken into side rooms. Everywhere was clean, but so basic. The care I received was excellent, apparently they have a section for westerners, but because it was the weekend it was closed. Anyone who wants to complain about the NHS - just go to somewhere else and see how lucky we are.


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

The dancing coupleThe dancing couple
The dancing couple

It was 6 am and as well as tai chi, there were couples ballroom dancing on the Bund. Was beautiful to watch.
Ancient carvingAncient carving
Ancient carving

This is a carving from a single piece of Mahogany root. It is so intricate and detailed.
At the Pearl MarketAt the Pearl Market
At the Pearl Market

The oyster I chose to have opened - 30 pearls inside and got to keep them.
River boat night tourRiver boat night tour
River boat night tour

Unfortunately we didn't get any of the classy lit up boats.
ChinglishChinglish
Chinglish

Classic Chinglish on the stairs of the boat we went on a night tour on.


30th August 2008

Looks great Lisa Keep well and enjoy . We love reading your postings and the pics are great See you soon

Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0506s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb