Epicurious in Shanghai


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai
August 19th 2008
Published: August 21st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Photo 1Photo 1Photo 1

mmm breakfast :)
Tuesday started off with our first “normal” breakfast at home. Post grocery excursion we had coffee and cereal! It was lovely and very tasty. I’m the sort of gal that needs a coffee in the morning, if you know what I mean, so to finally have one was very comforting. I’m totally for branching out and sampling new things, but it’s also nice to have your creature comforts.

We spent the afternoon doing a little more exploring of our area. We’re a 5 minute walk from Nanjing Road (main shopping street) and from Renmin Park, the People’s Park. We wanted to spend the day perusing the park, but the heat and sun got the best of us and after 30 minutes we found ourselves taking shelter in the nearby hotels and shopping malls. We wandered into the Radisson, a beautiful hotel on Nanjing, and after hearing great things about their 45th floor revolving restaurant, Epicure on 45, we checked it out. The menu was awesome, representing 4 regions - China, Europe, Japan, and India. There were enough veg options for me (mmm Indian!) and we booked a reservation.

One thing that we really noticed today was how many stares,
Photo 2Photo 2Photo 2

the tall building with the spaceship-like top is the Radisson hotel
leers, and oogles I get. Most people will take a look at Ollie and myself, which is totally understandable. We obviously aren’t Chinese and so people are probably just wondering where we’re from. But I especially get many men taking long hard looks at me, which gets quite uncomfortable and makes you hold onto you purse really tightly. Being caucasian, very blonde, and a young woman is obviously the reason. I’ve mainly felt uncomfortable out on the streets - indoors in places such as malls I find this happens much less. I’ve heard that Shanghai is generally a very safe city for woman travelers, though, with really only such things as petty theft and purse snatching happening. But you certainly do have to constantly be aware of your surroundings and your possessions - obvious stuff really. However it certainly teaches you to develop a tough skin.

Epicure on 45 was wonderful. Again, what a first dinner! I have to say that asian hospitality is top notch - the wait staff was extremely attentive and very friendly. I was also incredibly impressed at the maitre d, who double checked all the ingredients in my dishes, informing me of egg in
Photo 3Photo 3Photo 3

baking in Renmin Park
something I had first ordered, without my asking. I felt very comfortable here! We both had Indian appetizers and mains, a little wine, and I had what might’ve been the best samosas of my life! The restaurant was slowly making a 360 degree rotation, which gave us a 3 hour birds eye view of the futuristic, bright, and showy cityscape and a geographical lesson on the city. Fantastique!



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Photo 4Photo 4
Photo 4

Renmin Park
Photo 5Photo 5
Photo 5

country hero, Yao Ming, seen here in wax at Madame Tussauds
Photo 6Photo 6
Photo 6

romantic night out at the Radisson!
Photo 7Photo 7
Photo 7

the bright lights of Nanjing East from 45 storeys up
Photo 8Photo 8
Photo 8

more night skyline - the orange coloured building is the Shanghai Museum


4th September 2008

usually: 1. thin; usually thin means a good shape, so diet or Weight Loss product are very welcome now. The fat was thought as beauty only in Tang Dyn; 2. white; I guess the white concept of Chinese may be different from western style; Chinese white is really white and the skin is very delicate, no spot. Western white seems not really white, actually red. 3. Big Breast. Haha, this is not accepted by all. But some Chinese women boost their breast. (I do not know the percentage). It seems a lot pop starts(especially Korean stars) do this. So also there are a news about fake breast.

Tot: 0.041s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0206s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb