Feeds and Fun times in Shanghai


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai
August 13th 2008
Published: August 13th 2008
Edit Blog Post

man on tribikeman on tribikeman on tribike

his load is quite small - ha
So I think ive seen all the obvious touristy stuff in Shanghai now, and thats all cool and that. But I think Shanghai is more about eating and drinking. There are endless option for a good place to get a feed. There is a cute noodle house down the road from us that has muslim influences - some of the tastiest food ive ever had, and all for 3 kiwi bucks delivered. Everyone except the most exclusive restaurants deliver, for free.

On an excursion i went to a random Korean place that had dog on its chinglish menu. That gave me the fear and i ended up playing it safe and going for sweet and sour pork, which i can honestly say was the best of my life. I felt like a right arse rubbing my tummy and make appreciative facials when trying to explain to the waiter that it was bloody tasty. But he got the picture.

Fruit is very cheap also. Tasty peaches and nashi for 2 bucks a kilo. Water melons for 1 buck 50.

Drinking is another story all together. There are heaps of weird and wonderful places to go. On Saturaday night we
john john and xiaojohn john and xiaojohn john and xiao

on our way to the crazy stupermarket
went to the French Concession and drank cocktails and Italian red wine. All pretty much the same prices as godzone. We jumped in a couple of cabs and headed to a dance bar called Muse but our driver stopped and wouldnt go around the block to the enterance. Problem for us was that is was a mini typhoon outside. We sprinted to some trees and got drenched to the skin in the process. We were still a block from the club and looking like drowned rats so we bailed into a taxi and called it a night. But tonight Xiao and I are going to check it out, she says that my dancing is ugly because i look like a monkey - which i take as a compliment. Beforehand we are going to a Japanese Restaurant that for 30 bucks you can have all you can eat and drink, danger!

Shangahai is also a paradise for shoppers. There are some really cool and cheap chinese brands, then there are the big name Euro names and then of course the fakes. Mum requested some Prada glasses so I went hunting in some of the dodgy black markets that exist for the tall white hairy people. They have got all the big brands and the quality in most places is half decent surprisingly, altho time will tell if my rolex daytona keeps ticking. The Chinese word for mum is mama so after a few mama's and many dodgy fake stores I found Celima some Dolce & Gabbana glasses for 8 kiwi bucks. The owners seem to genuinely enjoy haggling, which is heaps of fun. I getting pretty brutal myself and have added walking out of the store to my arsenal of shopping weapons. When I bought my Rolex i made it about 30 meters with the guy following me getting cheaper by the meter. I ended up paying about 30 kiwi bucks. My american buddy John John got his for 10 bucks, he is hardcore!

Well its sushi time.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

old townold town
old town

old - in a disneyland kinda way
hmmhmm
hmm

3 kiwi dollars well spent


Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0354s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb