First Day in China


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai
October 13th 2005
Published: October 27th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Hi Friends - After lots of delays, many cheers and a few tears, I’ve arrived in Shanghai. Right now, I am sitting among the staff at Y+ in our office where the director, the head of teachers, the program manager, the marketing manager and sales manager are each sitting on the tatami mat floor, tapping away at laptops. There’s not a chair in the place. To recap the day, morning broke around 5 and I soon discovered the toilet in my apartment backs up into the shower stall. Ick. Luckily, I have a second WC so after a little cleaning, I was strolling in a nearby park with dozens of old folks, each stretching in their own way. Three groups were busy with Tai Chi. Others walked in loops, some even walked backwards. A few others brought their caged birds which sang to the sunrise from their perches. Pedestrians gave wide berth to the one woman practicing sword skills.
Then, by 6:45 the birdsong was replaced by jack-hammering and streams of bike, motorcycle and car traffic. My program manager came by on his bike and gave me a ride to the studio where I spent the day meeting, greeting and getting set to teach again.
I have two classes scheduled before leaving Saturday for Hangzhou, my next home, two hours south of Shanghai. Y+ has opened a new studio there and I’ll be one of the primary teachers. Meantime, I am enjoying rice dishes, high-test ginger tea the buzz of a very busy yoga studio.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0474s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb