Chinese New Year


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai
February 6th 2008
Published: February 6th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Time for Chinese New Year dinner...yippee! Incessant fireworks around the area all day. I've just zipped my new suitcase with a meagre 20kgs inside..I didn't think of the internal flights in China when I brought nearer 30 kgs from Hungary. Luckily Hailing can take some of it for me to Xi'an and Beijing. This afternoon we went to the supermarket, and I was kicking myself that I didn't bring my camera. The crowds are a bit hard to describe. Remember Tesco on Christmas Eve? Well multiply that by about 50 and imagine 53 checkouts going hell-for-leather. I saw one other foreigner, otherwise twas thousands of locals getting their dinner ingredients. Mammy Wang has been slaving over a hot stove here for the last few hours. Great air of celebration here, the New Year TV programmes are in full swing. Red is definitely the colour! And we are one China! Yeah!

I have so many photos from recent days, it'll take a while to upload them.

Time to go. Dinner is served. Starting with Palinka!! See you in Xi'an.

Oh - and a few more photos from yesterday (I think it was yesterday!)


Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement



Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0352s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb