The last day


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai
October 12th 2005
Published: October 12th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Well it seems like a long way off when you first arrive but here it is already. Our last full day in China began early with the sound of a flute playing coming from somewhere in Peoples Square. Neither of us got up to see the source but enjoyed the offering. After breakfast we went to see the Urban Planing Exhibition Hall just across the park from our hotel - a beautiful building dedicated to the future planning for Shanghai. It was, as we should now be expecting, well done and informative.The maquette of the city is amazing and there were films and displays about the port's future, industrial zones, pollution controls, water and waste systems, revitalizations of all sorts. I hate to be sucked in by propaganda and wonder at what cost all these amazing things come to pass but it truly is breathtaking to see what they have in store for this city of 17 milion. I have every confidence that they will do all of it. As I write this there is stirring music from the TV as the opening of the Chinese Games takes place in Nanjing. The olympics in 2008 will be something to see dear readers. Buy your tickets now.
After the Urban Planning exhibit we walked down Nanjing Road to pick up the last few things before heading back. The day is sunny and hot as it has been most of the trip.Very pleasant time of the year here for those of you wishing to follow in our footsteps. We found an interesting store with things we had not seen before and as it was quiet we became the only focus. Ann was bargaining at one end for some cushion covers while I was bargaining for a small silk carpet. I am not the bargainer Ann is but I have been looking for something for my office wall and time is running out so let the games begin. I walked away after the first skirmish leaving behind my opponent muttering to all around. No doubt about respect and those round eyes don't know nothin',and went to see how Ann was doing.Quite well as it turned out, she got some nice things at a quarter the asking price. I was heading out and volleyed an offer to the man who had been very vocal with his collegue since my first rejected offers. He moved in at the top of the stairs and began hand signals and body contortions indicating to me that I had to raise my price. At onne point I am sure he was on his tip toes in demonstrative free market style. I for my part got down on my knees to indicate my belief that a great injustice was being perpetrated here and there was a need for him to come down to earth where the real people live. This was a great hit with the gathering staff and my opponent. He was however persistent and again lifted my by the shoulders in the common language of inflation and infatuation. I stuck to my strategy and took my place sitting on the stairs looking as destitute as I could and pointed to Ann's purchases as an indication of my financial dire straits. I have no doubt he suppressed a tear at my misfortune and I got the sense I was winnning over the crowd of his colleagues which worked in my favour. Back and forth.thrust and parry and finally a shake great belly laughs and another small carpet goes to Canada. All good fun and the stuff that makes these trips memorable.
We headed back to the hotel and after a short rest took a taxi down to the French Concession to walk around. It was a bit late but we wandered around the sewing notions section of town admiring lace of all kinds, ric rac, sequins, buttons, and belt buckles, much to Ann's delight and eventually ended up at a lovely restaurant serving Asian food. We had a good meal of Indonesian, Malaysian, Thai and Indian food and then after a Scotch in the hotel bar we are back in the room packing. We leave at 1:30 tomorrow afternoon flying to Tokyo then Torontoand Ottawa. Good night from Shanghai. See you all soon.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.213s; Tpl: 0.022s; cc: 11; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0754s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb