Media tours and Shanghai


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai
June 12th 2007
Published: June 12th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hello all, I wanted to put out one last entry before my China travel blog ends. I've had a truly amazing trip. I've decided I want to learn Chinese now...we'll see how that goes. Not only did I learn so much about another culture but I made some really great friends along the way. I also managed to polish my haggling skills, I'm pretty masterful at it now!

The final part of our class was packed with media tours to a TV station, newspaper group, a magazine and several PR agencies. Everyone we met at each of these media organizations treated us like royalty it was amazing. We were given tours of each place, allowed lengthy and frank Q&A sessions and treated to lovely gifts and dinners. Apparently, our class was unique in that of the many foreign students who descend on China every year - none come to learn about Chinese communications. So our specific interest in media and PR added a unique twist which means that Oriental Outlook a Chinese magazine similar to Newsweek will be running a cover story on our class! Pretty cool huh?

On Thursday we left Nanjing and headed for Shanghai. I spent four days in Shanghai enjoying the amazing views, seeing the sights and also getting what someone today so appropriately called the "Shanghai flu" i.e. a pretty awful cold. It was not an ideal way to end a trip but stuffy nose and all I still managed to see the Shanghai acrobatics troupe which was totally amazing (this is not to be missed if you are ever there) and also got myself up to the Pearl tower, the largest tower in the world. Shanghai is an impressive city. There are over 4000 skyscrapers in Shanghai, which I think is over double what NY has so you can imagine -they are everywhere. Most of them are also architecturally astounding. It's a pretty cool city with lots of life but unlike Beijing which still seems to hold on to a little of its older history Shanghai seems to be thriving on the new. I liked Shanghai but have to say that on Sunday when I arrived in Beijing I was happy to be back.

Anyways, after this posting I will be back in the US again, so this is it from me. Hope you enjoyed the entries and hopefully I'll be talking to you all soon!



Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

Graded articlesGraded articles
Graded articles

Articles are graded by senior editors. A journalists grade influences their salary. We saw lots of C's and B's...only a few A's. Talk about employee motivation!


Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0361s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb