Good teeth....


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai
May 28th 2007
Published: May 28th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Evening all,

Me and dom found a LAN.... This is bad news as far as our cultural enrichment is concerned. We are there as I type...and we were here last night... Unfortunatly we're leaving Shanghai tomorrow...but if we wern't...we'd be here tomorrow night. The only reason I'm contacting the outside world is because Dom is currently on the phone to Hannah and I'm waiting for him to come back so we can continue our game of Starcraft (which I am winning :p).

SO, the evening before last we decided to get all fancy pants and go to the Cloud Nine Bar. This bar is at the top floor (floor 87) of the Grand Hyatt Hotel in Shanghai, and I believe it's the highest bar in the world...not completely sure. In any case, it's waaaay higher than the Empire state and most other buildings in the world I believe. Intrestingly it's right next to another skyscraper which is going to be the tallest building in the world when it's done. Anyway, yeah the Cloud Nine bar. We went to the Hyatt (complete with full backstorys in case they questioned our wealth...I was the son of a very rich stockbroker and dom was a young investment banker genius) We got to the top floor and had a look around, it was pretty insane, from the 54th floor upwards, the building was completely hollow aside from the apartments going around the 4 sides in a big circle, so you could look down from the 87th floor and see the 54th floor hotel lobby below you...it would have given me a heart attack if I had vertigo, I took some pictures so you'll be able to see the veiw when I next make an album on facebook.

The Cloud Nine bar itself wasn't as cool as we expected it to be, we waited 20 mins to get in and once we did it was a bit meh. The veiw was amazing though and we decided to project our western oppulence to the world by having cocktails and cigars 😊. Dom kind of ruined our aura of cool by thinking the Cocktail stirrer was a straw and trying to drink his cocktail through it...unfortunatly I was the only person who saw so I did the laughing on behalf of everyone else in the bar who should have been watching. ....Also when we were leaving, we got in our black tinted window taxi and he said "hey, I should make the most of having tinted windows...and promptly hit his head on the glass trying to look outside" again...yeah...no one looking...just me laughing.

The only other thing that happened in the past few days worth talking about was that we went to the M on the Bund resteraunt and had a v expensive and tasty meal to compensate for the fact that we can't go to Hong Kong (we kinda run out of time) and I won't be going either due to visa constrictions.

Right, I'll write again when we're back in Beijing and something interesting happens, dom's leaving in a few days so I imagine I'll be bored more often and write more 😞

Advertisement



Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0351s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb