Qingdao


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shandong » Qingdao
November 7th 2009
Published: November 7th 2009
Edit Blog Post

What a whirlwind couple of days.

I got a call on Thursday to say that my aunt and uncle were visiting my other uncle in Qingdao so booked a same day flight to visit. Sadru mama lives in Qingdao but is going on holiday on Sunday so I really had to get my skates on. I was worried about the flight becuase I seem to rememberthe domestic flights being a little bit bumpy last time I was here, but it was okay. It seems obvious to say this, but the biggest difference between here and the UK is the people and the attitudes. I was sitting in the aisle and as soon as the plane touched down everybody else jumped up. The aisle was filled with people so I just sat and waited for the doors to open so there would be some room. The guy beside me, though, squeezed past me to get into the aisle (where there was no room!) so he ended up practically standing on top of me for a good five minutes until the doors opened! We had to wait for our luggage anyway, so I don't seethe difference that the extra 5 seconds would have made...there have been a few things like that, where people have acted in unexpected ways.

So, Qingdao. Tarik's friend Bon Jovi (no, not that one!) was flying in from Beijing on Thursday too so thankfully he met me at the airport and took me to my uncle's. My uncle's Chinese housekeeper, Tang, has learned to make so pretty good indian fod so I had samosas when I got in - very much appreciated as I hadn't wanted to buy anything at the airport becuase I wasn't sure what was in the various packets in the shop!

Qingdao is famous for two things, beer (called Tsingtao) and it is where the Olympic sailing took place last year. Being here has made me understand what Tarik and Benny mean whn they say Tonglu is small. Qingdao is massive and quite polluted - I don't think you get a truly clear day here. Last night we went out for dinner to a restaurant called Gloria. The food was Szechuan and absolutely delicious, really flavoursome and spicy. The food in Tonglu is way too hot for me, and seems to lack any flavour (maybe that's why they put so many chillies in) but here it is much better. We're going out for lunch again today for a buffet thing. We walked to and from the restaurant last night and I'm really glad - Qingdao in the evening is magnificent. My uncle lives in the harbour so the walk was along the seafront. I took some pictures butthey really don't do it justice. During the day, I was kinf od overwhelmed by the size of the city, but at night it felt really safe and comfortable. I think it is one of the best cities to see at night.

Yesterday we went shopping. I bought a new suitcase becuase the one I borrowed from tarik to take this trip had only one wheel and no handle, a few clothes and scarves. Luckily Tang came with us to interpret and to haggle! If i have time I am going to get some clothes made for me, but I am sure that my size will fluctuate over the next couple of weeks so may leave that until the end of my trip. Clotthes shopping in China is something else. I am so glad I lost some weight over the summer - I am still an XXXL! They have fitting rooms but don't really use them so I was trying things on in the middle of the store. If you took your shoes off to try things the assistants (and there were so many assistants in each shop) would come running over and make you put yours on....

TBC..

Advertisement



7th November 2009

hey sweet!
Hiya darling, glad you are well and enjoying your time there with your brother...sounds amazing, have loads of fun sweet xxx
8th November 2009

fun!
It's brilliant - really good to just be somewhere different to be honest. Although I do miss home xx

Tot: 0.301s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0684s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb