Sailing the Yellow Sea


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shandong » Qingdao
December 23rd 2008
Published: December 24th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Leaving KoreaLeaving KoreaLeaving Korea

In the departure line for the ferry.

...Slow Boat to China...



When I was a child, I remember my sister and I decided to find out if we dug far enough whether we could get to China on the other side of the world. We gave up after digging a hole about a foot deep and decided China was too far away. Now I’m too far away to go home for Christmas and so I thought I’d give China another try.

Being that I’m already in Korea, I decided that China was too close to fly. North Korea stands in the way of me going overland, so I thought it would be fun to take the boat from Incheon (Seoul) to Qingdao. I looked up other people's blogs about it and decided the best way to go was first class. On the whole, when it comes to travel I’m usually up for the rough and adventurous trips, but this time I decided for comfort. I booked about a month in advance and got the room next to the Presidential Suite. For about $90, my cabin is like a hotel room with a full bath, small fridge, TV, table and chairs, and a nice window. After walking around the ship, I’m glad I got this room. Second and third class rooms are anywhere from 5 to 55 people to a room. I think I'm the only Westerner on the ship, so it’s nice to get away from people staring at me.

Being vegetarian, I found nothing to eat in the restaurant so I bought a chocolate bar at the convenience store and when to my cabin to eat the food I brought from home. I was going to take a nice soak in the sauna which is always fun to do on a ship, but I fell sound asleep in bed and woke up too late. Instead I soaked in the bathtub in my cabin. I love boat travel! There’s plenty to do and it feels so luxurious. I would take this over a miserably cramped airplane any day!

They keep making announcements in Korean and Chinese over the intercom. I hope they aren't telling me anything important. The boat trip is 15 hours and I’ll arrive in Qingdao mid morning where I hope the people from the hostel will pick me up and take me straight to my hotel. Onward to Qingdao...


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Ship's Lobby.Ship's Lobby.
Ship's Lobby.

Nicer than I expected.
My CabinMy Cabin
My Cabin

Royal Class ... like a hotel room. Very comfortable.
My CabinMy Cabin
My Cabin

The beds were hard as rock, but I think the Koreans like it that way.
2nd Class2nd Class
2nd Class

You get a bunk in a room of 30 -50 other bunks. A little more private than Economy class
Economy ClassEconomy Class
Economy Class

50 or more to a room. You sleep on the floor next to a stranger. The lights stay on all night.
First Sight of the MainlandFirst Sight of the Mainland
First Sight of the Mainland

Arriving in Qingdao
Out With the OldOut With the Old
Out With the Old

Looks like they are tearing down the old as fast as possible and putting up the new. I wonder what it looked like just a few years ago...


27th December 2008

Many miles away and adventures
Thank you so much for including me in your blog notes. You are so far from Austin Texas in distance and even further in adventures. I hope you are taking many pictures and keeping a detailed journal. You have so much to share beyond what you post in the blog. I have truly enjoyed each adventure you have shared and especially the ones involving the children. I wish you a healthy, safe and wonderful 2009. Martha
27th December 2008

I'm so glad you enjoy it. You encourage me to write more.

Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0402s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb