A reluctant, "Goodbye"


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shandong » Qingdao
July 15th 2007
Published: August 9th 2007
Edit Blog Post

As the school year comes to an end, our traveling adventures and my blog entries will once again begin. I look back at the year and wonder to myself where has the time gone? Where ever it may have gone, it won't be coming back which means we can only look forward to the future which, Knock on Wood, will hopefully be a bright future.

This past month there has been alot of "goodbye's" said to friends as well to relatives. More goodbye's than anyone would prefer but every new city visited is a reminder of how small the world is. ( I'm too lazy to write the whole story so insert "inside story" here) Just trust me, it's a small world. Haha. Sadly, Brittany and I had to say goodbye to Alex and Veronica as they set out on there central China vacation which would also be accompanied by Veronica's younger brother. Not only did we have to say goodbye to family and friends but also to our dear kitty "Emma". We were fortunate enough to find her a home before we had to leave but will still miss her crazy cat antics.

As we scramble to sort through all of our things we've purchased over the year, we're faced with the problem of, "Should I throw this out? Nah, I'll keep it. But what would I ever use it for? I don't even like it." I think I get it from Grandpa's farmer lifestyle. Why throw it out when it could be used for something that it was probably never intended to be used for. After a day of packing we then head out to try and consume as much of our favourite food from our favourite restuarants. Just thinking about going back to Canada and not having our favourtie Muslim dish again almost brings a tear to my eye. Yes it's just food but man was it good.

I'll end this blog early by saying that Qingdao has not only been a great growing opportunity for myself and Brittany but a fantastic chapter in our lives filled with the lots of good and some hard times. Although I don't want to say goodbye to Qingdao just yet I know I have to. So here's a reluctant "goodbye" to Qingdao and all the great people Brittany and I have met over the year. We'll miss you!!


Advertisement



19th July 2007

Hi Preston
It's nice to hear that you and Brittany had such a great experience in China. I enjoyed your travel blog entries. See you at Richy's wedding!
20th July 2007

Good-byes soon to be Hellos
Thanks for posting Preston. See you in August, or September for sure.

Tot: 0.114s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0555s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb