Warning! Chinese culture overload!


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shaanxi
July 5th 2011
Published: July 5th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Our streetOur streetOur street

The road my hostel is on
Well here it is, one of China's best preserved walled towns, though of course touristic it has been a great place to visit for the past couple of days. In this time I have walked every square inch of it's cobbled pathways, seen it's walls from every angle taken pitures of all four gates, marvelled at it's Qing dynasty courtyards and when the nightime comes the red lantern-hung lanes are illuminated against the imposing town walls. Phew, don't where that little monalogue came from.

So in other words I have taken another memory carf load of pictures that somehow at the time look great but in reality why did I bother.

Against my better judgement I did take myself on off another tour but in the end it didi make sense and was far more coost efective transport wise and ended up with a great bunch of people whom are all heading in the same direction as me so hopefully will be meeting up some way along the line.
Ah yes the tour, well don't get too excited it was the Wang Family Courtyard which contains 123 courtyards (the clue is in the name) and more 3,500 rooms, which
South gateSouth gateSouth gate

One of the entrances into the walled town
was an absolute maze to wander around and secondly the one reason I went on the tour was Zhangbi Underground Castle a 1,400 year old network of defense tunnels, but you do need a guide for this to prevent you from getting lost in its 1,500m of tunnels. All rather interesting.

So tonight I am on the overnight train to Xi'an, home to the Terracotta Army and amongst other things, again I am on a hard sleeper, which I will tell you about next time.

If anyone is reading this blog and Jen I know you are, I can't get onto facebook here, I could if I download some programme which will cost me £5 , which will then direct me to an outside server but to be honest I am not missing facebook that much so I have no way to answer your messages.

Ok, till next time anyone who is travelling travel safe and the rest of you be happy and see you next time and thanks for reading.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Wang CourtyardWang Courtyard
Wang Courtyard

One of the many couryards in this family pad
I like the lionsI like the lions
I like the lions

Love this look, the lions keep out bad spirits, on the left is the male with the universe under his paw & on the right is the female with a litter cubs under her paw. See I have learnt something.
Map of the underground tunnelsMap of the underground tunnels
Map of the underground tunnels

Yea right this is going to help us if we get the lost
Guess whoGuess who
Guess who

Me in a tunnel. Now where did that guide go? Left or right?
Entrance or exitEntrance or exit
Entrance or exit

Finally made it out


5th July 2011

Wow you look like you are having an AMAZING time!!! Am loving your blog!!! You are not missing much on facebook, don't worry. Will email Joanie for you. Keep having fun!!! X
5th July 2011
I like the lions

You like the lions BUT.......
I'm guessing you are having has such a good time your left and right have been reversed! Glad to see you are having a fantastic time. Keep on blogging and stay safe.

Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 13; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0226s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb