Xi'an & that Army


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shaanxi » Xi'an
July 8th 2011
Published: July 8th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Pit number 3Pit number 3Pit number 3

Still being exgervated
So here I am, in another big bad city of China and what has drawn me here? Well, firstly I am limiting my train travel to just 12 hour overnight stints and this thankfully fell into that bracket and of course one of those must sees' The Terraacotta Warriors.

So I was straight off the train, booked the next train ticket my exit for Friday night then with town map & the Lonely Planet in hand I set off into that wet season rain and the city of Xi'an, well infact it was back to the train station to get on the bus to go and visit that Army.

Just a little background information on these little men, (don't want you to think that I am not learning anything here on my little culture tour) they were only discovered in 1974 by some locals digging for a well and low & behold they unearth this little lot. Ok, more information, there are three pits & pit number 1 being the most impressive one and which most people will recognize from pictures etc. So I started with pit 3 then leading onto 2 which gave me the build up to
Pit number 2Pit number 2Pit number 2

This one is the smaller of them all
the most impressive pit for the grand finale. I will of course let the pictures do the talking.

Day number 2, I wanted to breath some Chinese fresh air, so I was back on another bus to the country and to climb one of Chinas' 5 sacred mountains Hua Shan. Thankfully the china budhas were looking down on me as the sun was shinning & there was a new backpackers spring in my step. Well I wasn't springing by the end of the day, it was more of a Quazimodo drag, but it was worth it just for those dirzzying views & the fresh air. I was beginning to wonder if China had any!

So here we are photo time. I am leaving tonight for Guangyuan but that is not my final destination, I will then head onto Penfeng to visit a national park. Thanks everyone for your comments, please keep them coming and I will keep blogging, take care.






Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Pit number 1Pit number 1
Pit number 1

Here they are, all waiting!
Still number 1Still number 1
Still number 1

Closer look
Pit 1Pit 1
Pit 1

Another angle
At the startAt the start
At the start

My Hua Shan in the background
Please readPlease read
Please read

Did they not have razors back then
On the way up!On the way up!
On the way up!

101,102,103, blimey I have lost count now
I made itI made it
I made it

Look, blue skies
Don't look downDon't look down
Don't look down

What goes up must climb those bloody stairs back down. Where's that cable car?
Most importantlyMost importantly
Most importantly

Just incase the need takes you, think again!


Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0364s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb