You meiyou youpiao?


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shaanxi » Xi'an
April 13th 2013
Published: April 13th 2013
Edit Blog Post

FlowersFlowersFlowers

Im a sucker for pretty flowers
I decided to stay in tonight. Ever since i arrived to china it has been nonstop. In no way am i complaining, im just exhausted! This morning after breakfast we went to the wild goose pagoda. Half of the area was under construction but it was beautiful! It was completed in 652 ad to house the buddhist sutras brought back from india by the monk Xuan Zang. He is the one who inspired the book monkey king, which we read last quarter. Its crazy to think i walked around on the same ground as he did many years ago. Surrounding the pagoda is Da Ci'en Temple, one of the largest in Tang Chang'an. Most the buildings date back to the Qing dynansty (my favorite dynasty). I love the smell of incense and all the giant statues of buddha and goddesses. I didnt go up into the pagoda but walked around it and peaked inside the temples. After that we walked down the courtyard to see Asia's largest music fountain. I had a great time watching the fountain spray people in the face as they tried to get close to snag a good picture. I have to admit i got sprayed myself!
ArtArtArt

Beautiful ceiling art
I also snagged a picture of a baby with the slit in his pants to have proof to back up my "babies pooping in the street" story. It was a warm day so i was glad to get back to the dorm for lunch. After lunch i had a 30 minute break so I decided to hoof into town to the post office to get stamps for my postcards. You would think there would be stamps at the post office, but no! I said "qingwen, mai liangzhang youpiao" which means, excuse me two stamps please. The lady looked confused And so i tried asking again and pointed to my postcard. she then calls over her manager who says something in chinese that i cannot understand. I catch the word meiyou, which means no or none. I stood there for a moment, really confused, then asked, "youpiao zai nar?" Which means Where stamps? (My chinese grammar is horrible, but im learning!) she held up a finger and pointed left and said something again i could not understand.. So i left. I stood outside looking at the big sign that read post office, making sure i was in the right place. If
Nazi?Nazi?Nazi?

Look on her chest? That cant mean what i think it means.. Im gunna have to look into that
there are no stamps in the post office where would they be? I turned left and walked into different stores asking "you meiyou youpiao??" And everyone said no. I began to get frustrated, looked at the time and realized i needed to get back to the dorm to leave for the masque and bizaare street. As i hoof it back (hoof means really fast walking) i started to get frustrated. I was hot, tired, and pissed that i spend my precious 30 minute break running around, now empty handed, instead of resting. By the time i get back i have 5 minutes until we leave. I vented to my roommate about the event and i was really worked up. Was this really about the stamps? I realized that i was exhausted and that maybe staying in tonight and having some space from the group might be the best idea. I didn't want to miss out but i didn't want to fall apart either. I havent had any time to myself and i havent picked up my hula hoop but maybe once. Staying in was the best idea ever! I did laundry (which means washing in the sink and hanging in
GoddessGoddessGoddess

The tour guide asked me if i new why she had so many arms and i replied.. Because she is a woman of many things and hobbies...? Haha and i was wrong
the window) i got to skype nick for an hour ^_^ i went on a nice easy stroll around campus, and now im gunna hoop before the sun sets. Im not sure what i missed (im sure there were lots of pictures taken) but im feeling recharged and so glad to get some me time. Here on some pictures from today.. Now time to hoop then find some food (first time by myself! Eekk! Luckily i know how to say no meat in chinese.. Bu ruo!)


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Proof!Proof!
Proof!

I cant get enough of these cute baby butts..
LaundryLaundry
Laundry

This is how we do it! And i used duct tape to insure my undies didnt go flying out the window!
Sunset Sunset
Sunset

The smog is horrendous! But makes for a pretty sunset


13th April 2013
Proof!

wonderful
loved all the pictures. so proud of what you are doing. love you mttct nanny
26th April 2013

Doesnt the goddess have many arms so she can help as many people as possible? So great to read all your travel blog entries. I hope you keep making good self aware choices. I love how grateful you sound for being there, what a wonderful way to live!
29th April 2013

From what I learned when I was in Asia, the symbol on her chest is the symbol for life. Hitler just turned it around and used it for other purposes. Would be curious to know what you find out. My interpretation 'You Me You You Play' Love You M

Tot: 0.043s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0243s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb