Xian


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shaanxi » Xi'an
February 6th 2009
Published: February 6th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Xian

Terra Cotta Warriors

The first day of Xian was spent going to see the famous terra cotta warriors. It took just under an hour to get to the warriors and the lonely planet book advice to get a tour guide while going around so you can learn more about the warriors. I did not know that all the warriors that were found have been remade as they were all broken when found. Also they are coloured when first found but once the air gets to the paint they just go a clay colour. There are 3 main pits with pit 1 being the biggest and the best to look at. The terracotta figures, dating from 210 BC, were discovered in 1974 by several local farmers and still digging them up today. It was a really good day and the tour guide did take her time showing us around which took about 2 hours.

Hua Shan

Another mountain and another 10k trek. This Trek would of took 5 hours to complete bet Ceri and I did not have time to spend 5 hours going up and 2 hours coming down so we just walked for 2 hours and spent 1 hour coming back down the mountain. I am so shocked that I don't find climbing these mountains hard, ok they are not easy but I have really surprised my self how fit I am, and enjoy hiking more than going to see temples and site seeing which I think I have had enough of China temples and that now as they are pretty much all the same lol.

I have got a bit lazy on this blog entry but I have run out of things to say, of to Shanghai next so only another 7 days before I am in the land down under can not wait. Still have not made up my mind where I am working in OZ or NZ or weather to just go a bit in debt and worry about it when I come home I think I will make my mind up at the last second.



Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement



Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0491s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb